Meaning of One: Part One by Sovran

Story Title:  Meaning of One: Part One
Author Name:   Sovran
Story Url: Story Link
Alternate URL: Story Link 2
Content Rating:  All Ages*
Status: Completed
Length:   254,120
Story Summary:    If two people are deliberately created to be together, how will the challenges in a world of magic and Dark Lords be dealt with? What would it mean for two people to truly become one? A re-imagination of first year.

Gioia’s Rec:
I don’t know how I managed to miss posting a rec for this fic years ago.  I love this story and consider it in my top ten, if not higher, for the HP fandom.  It’s easily in my top 5 for the Harry/Ginny ship.  The story is one of those which features an inexplicable bond between Harry and Ginny – something which connects them mentally at the very least.  If you liked “Fate’s Debt,” you’ll love this story, too.  The two stories have similar concepts, though the authors tell very different stories.  And as long as I’m comparing “Meaning of One” to my favorite HP fics, I should also mention that there is an overall tone and even a specific post-Quidditch scene in this fic which remind me of the fantabulous HP classic story, “After the End,” for which I see I am also remiss in not having posted a rec. (Posted!)

The story opens with a preface which, I’ll be honest, I don’t particularly enjoy in its abstract, surreal format.  I say that not as a critique, because there is nothing wrong with the technical aspects of this chapter.  It’s simply not to my personal tastes; and since it is so different in its style from the rest of the format, it bears mentioning, lest you expect the remainder of the story to be in the same style of writing.  I must admit that I skim that each time I read the story in order to get to my favorite parts.  However, it does contain information you’ll need in order to understand why the bond exists between Harry and Ginny, and why it is that they are so very different in the beginning of the story from their canon counterparts.

Because there are some definite differences there.  The author takes the idea that the two of them are made complete by this bond, which brings up the logical conclusion that they were previously incomplete without it.  Sovran’s descriptions of what that means is very creative and adds greatly to the story.  In fact, Sovran’s entire story stands out because of his creativity.  This concept has been played with before in many other stories, but very few are successful in writing such epics that are just as intriguing as canon, don’t feel completely ridiculous, and are not simply a rehash of the stories JKR wrote.   There is much the same, of course.  And the story does not just stampede through the canon plots fixing everything within reach.  Instead, it’s a different tale, with different characterizations, different plot setups, and different results in the end.  It’s absolutely captivating and will suck you in and cause you to lose sleep just as I did.  And you won’t regret it a bit.

* The story contains some extremely vague references to sex, though it’s never overtly mentioned. It’s along the lines of people freaking out about the implications of Ginny and Harry’s close relationship, but never really explaining why, until the two kids finally get a clue, blush, and change the subject.  So while I agree with Sovran in listing this as an all ages fic, I’ll add the caveat that if I read it to my young daughter, I will probably try to skip over those allusions.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, Alternate Universe, Character Study, Conventional (Canon) Couple, Deviates from canon in or just prior to Chapter 1, but consistent with canon backstory, Drama/Angst, Favorite Story, Favorite Story-Harry Potter, Fluff, Friendship/Mentorship, Gen, Harry Potter, Harry Potter/Ginny Weasley, Harry-centric, Het: M/F, Humor/Parody, Romance, Series, Soul Bond, Marriage Bond, Other Similar Bond, Spoilers for Philosopher's/Sorcerer's Stone, Violence or Abuse-Non-sexual, Weasley-centric and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meaning of One: Part One by Sovran

  1. Mary says:

    I can’t thank you enough for posting this. This is truly one of the best HP stories I’ve ever read, and I probably never would have found it if you didn’t post this rec, so thank you. This story made me laugh, it made me cry (which I don’t do often, let me tell you), and it was a wonderful experience reading it. Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!!

Leave a Reply

