The Final Reason by Ola (ardnaskela)

Story: The Final Reason
Author: Ola (ardnaskela)
Story URL-Original story: Story Link 1 – No longer available.
Amazon Kindle: Story Link 2
Amazon Paperback: Story Link 3
Word count: 29,800
Rating: Mature
Summary: Elizabeth is already promised to another when she meets Darcy.

Gioia’s Rec:
This review is for the original version of this book.  I have not read the completed, revised version that is now for sale on Amazon.  This story is no longer posted for free anywhere online.

“The Final Reason” is a really interesting story, and I’ve frequently re-read it. Lizzy is engaged to someone else and Darcy very aggressively pursues her, against her will. But even while he is rather forceful and even domineering at times, there is a gentleness, a patience and concern for her, which drives his actions. His character definitely has some grey shades here, but it makes him all the more interesting. (There is no infidelity in the story.)  Please note: I’m putting this under the “Non-Con/Reluctant” category because of Lizzy’s reluctance regarding the courtship, not because of any sexual situation.  It’s a technicality, honestly.

March 2012 Update: I was delighted today to see that the author has a new version of this story in the works (See the third story link above.).   Although it is still a Work-in-Progress, I am marking this story as completed, since the completed, original version is still available online (See the first two story links above).  I’m eagerly looking forward to reading the new version when it is completed.
My only critique: The way in which Darcy & Elizabeth’s happy ending is secured struck me as OOC for Darcy and several of Elizabeth’s relatives.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Arranged/Forced Marriage, Bohemian or intellectual characterizations, Content Rating-P&P: Mature (R), Conventional (Canon) Couple, Drama/Angst, Era: Regency, Het: M/F, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Non-con/Reluctant Situation, OMC/Elizabeth Bennet, Prior Relationship for Elizabeth or Darcy, Unconventional Couple and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Final Reason by Ola (ardnaskela)

  1. Rocío says:

    Hello recently I interner to read almost all the stories that you recommend, but I can not find The final reason in the links that you published, I would like to know exiten other links where the story can be accessed to be able to read it translated into Spanish because I am from Argentina and my English is not very good. Thank you

    • Gioia says:

      It appears that the author, Ola, deleted her story from those websites when she published the second version of the story as a book on Amazon. I think that version is the best. 🙂 If you want the second version, you can buy it HERE as a Book ($13.50), or HERE as a kindle download ($2.90).

Leave a Reply

