An Arranged Marriage by Jan H

Story: An Arranged Marriage
Author: Jan H
Story URL: Story Link (story deleted from this location)
Amazon URL: Story Link  (Available for purchase on Amazon.com)
Word count: 91,400
Rating: All
Summary: For reasons of economy, Elizabeth is forced to marry a man she thinks she does not love.

Gioia’s Rec:
This fic is much more angsty than a lot of those I love, but it’s well worth it.  The fact that I can enthusiastically recommend this story in spite of my angst phobia should tell you how good it is! The story begins with Elizabeth’s marriage to Mr. Darcy due to her father’s death shortly after Darcy’s failed Easter proposal. The story does a great job of depicting their marriage, particularly the first few months. Darcy is very much himself in this story.

My only critique: I have issues with the non-con/reluctance nature of the arranged marriage sub-genre in general, but this author handles the subject well in this particular story. So while I do want to alert readers to the truth of the story’s title, don’t worry that there is any sort of victimization going on in the Darcy’s bedroom.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Arranged/Forced Marriage, Content Rating-P&P: All Ages (G - PG), Conventional (Canon) Couple, Deviates from canon at or post-Hunsford, Drama/Angst, Era: Regency, Het: M/F, Main Character Death, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Non-con/Reluctant Situation, Pride & Prejudice and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Arranged Marriage by Jan H

  1. Pingback: A Conversation Behind the Tapestries by BethW | Gioia Recs…

  2. snowy_owl says:

    I read this when it was still available for free… I thought it was fantastic but then I do love a good angsty fic!

Leave a Reply

