In Sickness and in Health by Besty R

Story: In Sickness and in Health
Author: Betsy R
Story URL: Story Link (no longer at this link)
Alternate URL: Wayback Machine link (possibly temporary?)
Word count: 32,500
Summary:  Soon after Jane’s departure for London, the residents of Meryton are besieged by a plague, which has unexpected outcomes.

Gioia’s Rec:
When a deadly fever strikes the Meryton area after Christmas, the Bennets are seriously impacted. I bawled my way through much of this fic but absolutely love the beautiful ending.  I can’t even count how many times I’ve come back to re-read this.  There is a scene between Jane and Darcy that takes place at Dawn and is so vividly depicted that it gives me chills each time I read it.

My only critique:  This is one of those stories for which it’s hard for me to think of something which might be a stumbling block to others.  Even as an angst wimp, I don’t think this story is particularly angsty.  I suppose there are some elements which canon purists might not like or might find implausible.  But truthfully, I found the story to be a very good what-if scenario, in that it substituted one Hunsford crises (the failed proposal & subsequent argument) for another (the life-threatening illness) in order to give Darcy the boot-to-the-head he needed in getting his priorities in line.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Content Rating-P&P: All Ages (G - PG), Conventional (Canon) Couple, Deviates from canon at or post-Hunsford, Drama/Angst, Era: Regency, Favorite Story, Favorite Story-Pride & Prejudice, Het: M/F, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Pride & Prejudice, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

