Eternal Flame by Heather F (Quill)

Story: Eternal Flame
Author: Heather F (Quill)
Story URL: Story Link
Word count: 86,400
Summary: The house known as Pemberley is as mysterious and inaccessible as Sleeping Beauty’s briar-shrouded castle. When fate hands Elizabeth Bennett an invitation from its reclusive owner, will she find a handsome prince within … or a frog?

Gioia’s Rec:
This was an absolutely amazing story, and for many months afterward I could not shake it from my mind. Aside from the tale being extremely well-written, the author captures the characters beautifully. Even in the modern setting, you’ll have no trouble connecting to the P&P characterizations. Normally I don’t read modern P&P adaptations, but even if you feel the same way, trust me: there are specific reasons why you’ll really regret it if you don’t make an exception in this case, as the author has some rather ingenious tie-ins to the regency-era book. There were moments I just bawled due to the rich, heart-felt narrative. It’s hard to say much without spoiling the story, but if ever a fanfic deserved to get published based solely on its own merits, it is this one. I am already looking forward to re-reading this story again soon.
My only critique: This is another story for which I’m struggling to find something to criticize. The only think I can think of is that some people may not enjoy the small inclusion of a fantasy element in this story, as it can be hard to take one’s willing suspension of disbelief far enough as to permit fantasy to be included in this Regency-era classic. Personally, I thought it was a stroke of brilliance.

As I always do with modern adaptations, this fic is marked as containing out-of-character (OOC) behavior. That is not a critique, but simply a tag to indicate purposeful changes in the characterizations due to the modern setting. E.g., fics in which Elizabeth as an  independent, working woman or Mrs. Bennet is a former dancer, etc.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Content Rating-P&P: All Ages (G - PG), Conventional (Canon) Couple, Drama/Angst, Era: Modern, Era: Regency, Fantasy/Folklore/Mythology, Favorite Story, Favorite Story-Pride & Prejudice, Fluff, Het: M/F, Main Character Death, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Mystery/Suspense, Out-of-character behavior (Deliberate), post-canon setting, Pride & Prejudice, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Eternal Flame by Heather F (Quill)

  1. Pingback: Poor Darcy by Heather F (Quill) | Gioia Recs…

  2. Pingback: Coming Home by Linda K | Gioia Recs…

  3. Pingback: A Man of No Consequence by Heather F (Quill) | Gioia Recs…

  4. HeatherF says:

    Hi, Gioia,

    Thank you for all your lovely reviews. I can’t read any of them without blushing, but I’m glad you like them! I hope you don’t mind me mentioning that the current link for Eternal Flame goes to 50 Miles, and sadly they are closing down very soon. However, the story is still available to read on my website at: http://www.faulkes.co.uk/heather/ef/index.html

    Happy New Year to you and yours!

    • Gioia says:

      Thank you, Heather! I’m so sorry – I don’t know why I never received a notification of your reply. (Missed several from others, too!) I’m updating this now. I am horrified to hear that 50Miles is going down. Thank you so much for making sure we have a current link to this! I just re-read it last week, actually. It’s still a huge favorite of mine.

      Grazie mille!

Leave a Reply

