Steady To His Purpose by Joana S

Story: Steady To His Purpose
Author: Joana S
Story URL: Story Link
Word count: 130,600
Rating: All
Summary: At the end of the half-hour in the Netherfield library, during which Mr. Darcy had studiously pretended to ignore Elizabeth, a note is delivered that would change the course of history… A Regency story.

Gioia’s Rec: This story goes dramatically AU during Jane’s illness at Netherfield, and I was absolutely delighted with the very different plotline that develops from one little change. The crossover with Sense and Sensibility, my other favorite Jane Austen novel, makes the story all the more fun.  There is a kinship that just seems natural between several characters from S&S with those from P&P.  But the most captivating part of this story is the fantastic characterizations, as Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth go down a completely different road in order to end up at the same point as in canon.  I loved this.
My one critique:
The only problem with crossovers is that they often require a good understanding of the other canon in order for the reader to thoroughly appreciate all the plot points.  I haven’t read Sense & Sensibility for a few years, so I must admit I was a little weak in my ability to comprehend those elements of the story.  However, Joana’s story is not so dependent upon the two sets of canon as to make it impossible or less-enjoyable to read and appreciate the overall story.

At the end of the half-hour in the Netherfield library, during which Mr. Darcy had studiously pretended to ignore Elizabeth, a note is delivered that would change the course of history… A Regency story.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Content Rating-P&P: All Ages (G - PG), Conventional (Canon) Couple, Crossover, Era: Regency, Fluff, Het: M/F, Main Character Death, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Pride & Prejudice, Romance, Unconventional Couple and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

