The Unexpected Entail by Linnea Eileen

Story: The Unexpected Entail
Author: Linnea Eileen
Story URL: Story Link
Word count: 27,300
Rating: All
Summary: The future of Longbourn is in doubt, all potential heirs must be located, and Elizabeth Bennet may once again be forced to choose between duty and the desire of her heart.

Gioia’s Rec:
Given my admitted and pathetic wimpiness when it comes to angst, I was surprised by how much I adored this story. There is definitely angst presence, but it isn’t the bitter, angry, hurtful type that tends to bother my overly-sensitive feelings. In fact, calling it “angst” may be the wrong descriptive entirely. There’s cathartic grief here and a real awareness of how hurtful Lydia’s behavior was, as the story explores how badly the situation in canon could have been. But we, the readers, aren’t left to wallow in that misery for long. Not only does the story’s short, novella-length prevent it, but also the plot isn’t focused on the sad parts. The emphasis is on the character development as we see how those involved, especially Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy, respond to a new set of circumstances. So although I’ll admit that I cried while reading this story, that didn’t prevent me from enjoying it one iota. The story was brilliant.

My one critique:
At the beginning of the fic, the narrative skips around chronologically just a bit, and I must admit I found that unnecessary as a story-telling device. But it’s not a frequent occurrence (just one or two scenes are done this way), so it wasn’t enough to detract from my enoymejnt of the story.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Conventional (Canon) Couple, Drama/Angst, Era: Regency, Het: M/F, Longer road to resolution, Main Character Death, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Mr. Wickham/Lydia Bennet, Pride & Prejudice, Romance, Tragedy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

