Of Scoundrels and Suitors by Pamela St. Vines

Story: Of Scoundrels and Suitors
Author: Pamela St. Vines
Story URL: Author’s Site
Word count: 20,580
Rating: All
Summary: This is another “happy what if” story. In this instance, what if Darcy had talked to Elizabeth instead of just staring at her. The story begins at Netherfield during Jane’s illness and ends shortly after the Bennet sisters return to Longbourn.

Gioia’s Rec:
This author is one of my absolute favorites in the JA fandom, though she appears to be relatively unknown. I know of her husband as a popular HP author. Her characterizations are fantastic, the plots are interesting, and the stories themselves are always very well written. This fic is no exception. Because I am a fluff-addict, her fics are particular favorites of mine. But even more, I love the fact that she knows how to write fluff without compromising the character growth. The focus of this story is on Elizabeth’s POV, so when Darcy decides to pursue her while he is still at Netherfield, Elizabeth must face her own prejudices much sooner. I love that the author doesn’t skip over that process, even though this is a short-story and she could have gotten away with omitting such introspective moments.
My only critique: I want more!

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Conventional (Canon) Couple, Deviates from canon at or after Jane's illness, Era: Regency, Favorite Story, Favorite Story-Pride & Prejudice, Fluff, Het: M/F, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Pride & Prejudice, Resolution earlier than in canon, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

