Assumed Engagement by Kara Louise

Story: Assumed Engagement
Author: Kara Louise
Story URL: Lulu e-book link; Amazon link
Page count: 223
Rating: All
Summary: Before his proposal to Elizabeth at Hunsford, Darcy writes to his sister telling her of his intentions. When he is injured on the way home after his visit in Kent, Georgiana assumes that Elizabeth has accepted his offer and sends for her.

Gioia’s Rec:
This is a self-published book which I treated myself to for my birthday after seeing a lot of praise for the story.  It was definitely worth the cost, which I don’t say lightly, as I’m rather cheap and tend to rely heavily on my library for new reading materials. ;0)  I liked the different way that Mr. Darcy’s character changes take place post-Hunsford. I especially loved how Georgiana is involved in those alterations, and how her own character grows during that time period.  There is a published sequel, Assumed Obligation, which I have not yet had the opportunity to read.
My only critique:
There really isn’t much to criticize here. The only critique I can think of contains a mild spoiler, below…

…Elizabeth and Darcy have an argument in this story which I didn’t feel was truly addressed, much less resolved. I found it difficult to understand how Elizabeth’s opinion of Mr. Darcy was supposed to improve post-Hunsford (as it did in Pride & Prejudice when Elizabeth would re-read Mr. Darcy’s letter) in light of this argument. Based on how thorough the rest of the book is (the only unresolved plot threads appear to be deliberately left for the sequel) I suspect that when this book was prepared for publication, some of Elizabeth’s internal thoughts on the matter were cut out during the editing process, as either that or a short discussion with Darcy was all that was missing here. However, that does not mean that the characterizations are in any way thrown OOC (out-of-character) as a result of this minor issue.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Chick Lit, Conventional (Canon) Couple, Drama/Angst, Era: Regency, Fluff, Friendship/Mentorship, Het: M/F, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Pride & Prejudice, Published Novel, Religious/Faith/Spiritual element, Resolution earlier than in canon, Romance and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

