A Most Beloved Sister, Volume 1 by Casey

Story: A Most Beloved Sister, Volume 1
Author: Casey
Category:   Pride & Prejudice
Story URL: Story Link (pdf format)
Content Rating: Adult
Status: Completed
Word count: 77,500
Summary: When Elizabeth rejects Darcy’s second proposal, he is devastated. However, before he goes, she gifts him with a letter of her own. She loves him, but because of his interference with Jane and Bingley (whom Jane could not forgive), she claims she cannot accept him. Although he is devastated, he meets her again a year or so later and decides that he cannot let her go. But after a tragedy strikes her family, will he be able to convince Elizabeth to accept his love and be his wife once and for all?

Gioia’s Rec:
This is a very angsty fic initially. Darcy’s second proposal from P&P is rejected, even though Elizabeth admittedly loves him by then. However because Jane refused Bingley when he proposed (feeling that he was inconstant and unreliable), Elizabeth fears that accepting Darcy would hurt Jane too much. What follows is an initially sob-filled story about what it takes to bring the couple together. The story is very well-written, though I think the OCs could’ve used a bit more time in the spotlight.  What really stands out for me, though, is the fact that in spite of what a huge angst wimp I am, I found this to be a great story.  If, like me, you find joy and fulfillment from watching our beloved Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth overcome all obstacles in order to find true love, you’ll adore this story.

My only critique: Angst makes me cry. Also, there does not seem to be a Volume 2. (The trivial, silly nature of those criticisms should hopefully convey the fact that there isn’t anything to criticize here!)

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Content Rating-P&P: Adult (NC-17), Conventional (Canon) Couple, Drama/Angst, Era: Regency, Het: M/F, Introspective, Longer road to resolution, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Original Character featured, Pride & Prejudice, Romance, Tragedy, Unconventional Couple and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Most Beloved Sister, Volume 1 by Casey

  1. gensing says:

    I wanted to fist of all tell you how much I am enjoying reading your recommendations … I have lately found myself addicted to P&P fanfic and finding your site has truly helped focus my search for good examples. I feel guilty I haven’t been replying more often as I frequently finish reading a piece recommended by you and think how much I agree with your comments.

    Why am I writing now? The link to this story has changed and is now http://austenunderground.com/documents/A%20Most%20Beloved%20Sister.pdf

    • Gioia says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words! You’ve absolutely made my day! I’m delighted that my site has served its intended purpose for you. No worries on the comments. 😉 As you can probably tell, I haven’t had the time to be around as often as I’d like to be anyway, and lately I’ve mostly been re-posting archived fic recs which I had originally posted elsewhere for a different fandom. So it’s entirely possible I would’ve missed any responses you left at this point. Of course, if you happen to run across any stories you love which I don’t have listed on this site, please let me know! I have a long “To Be Read” list, but I’m always eager to add to it, particularly if I can flesh out the P&P section of this site.

      Thank you, too, for taking the time to leave me the correct link! I need to go through these older recs at some point and re-write them (they were written in a hurry and really don’t do the stories justice) as well as check the links, but again there are those dratted time conflicts. I appreciate your bringing this to my attention so I could quickly fix it.

      Grazie mille and happy reading to you!
      Gioia

Leave a Reply

