A Musical Interlude by Betsy R

Story: A Musical Interlude
Author: Betsy R
Story URL: Story Link (no longer at this link)
Alternate URL: Wayback Machine link (possibly temporary?)
Word count: 7,800
Summary: In this particular ditty, there is no Wickham rearing his ugly head. Darcy is not so morose, probably because there is no Wickham rearing his ugly head.

Gioia’s Rec:
This is pure fluff, but very lovely. I liked this a lot. There is more to it than the summary implies, as we see how things might have progressed if Mr. Darcy had been given the chance to form a friendship with Elizabeth during his time at Netherfield. It’s not quite as easy as you might imagine!  In fact, I’m going to retract my description of this as “pure fluff,” because the truth is that there’s a lot of depth here beneath the surface. Elizabeth’s soul is laid bare in a couple of spots, and it’s truly moving to see Mr. Darcy recognize and appreciate that unveiling.
My only critique: I wish it were a bit longer, as it was too beautiful of a story for me to easily let it go!

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Conventional (Canon) Couple, Deviates from canon at or after Jane's illness, Deviates from canon at or post-Hunsford, Era: Regency, Fluff, Friendship/Mentorship, Het: M/F, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Pride & Prejudice, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Musical Interlude by Betsy R

  1. g2-ca9d40ad95e3fde9d445e7ecc5b7648e says:

    Thank you!
    Betsy R

Leave a Reply

