Janet and Elisabeth by Tamsin

Story: Janet and Elisabeth
Author: Tamsin
Story URL: Story Link
Word count: 111,300
Summary: Janet and Elisabeth Fitzwilliam, daughters of the Earl and Countess of Matlock, were kidnapped as young children. Twenty years after the crime took place, it is revealed that they were taken and raised by a family named Bennet from Hertfordshire.

Gioia’s Rec:
I don’t know why I devour all the fics in this specific subgenre of crack fic. Something about the Elizabeth-is-actually-an-heiress-(possibly-a-Fitzwilliam!) scenario cracks me up, maybe partly because it defeats the entire premise of P&P. (Entirely illogical of me, I know.)  This story is a very enjoyable interpretation of the admittedly improbable premise, so enjoyable, in fact, that I’ve come back and re-read it several times.

My only critique: See my comments about this sub-genre on the entry for “All That This Entails.” Be aware that this is the most crack-ish version of this premise that I’ve rec’ed and I do have some stylistic concerns with a few scenes.  Regardless, it still entertains me enormously, and I offer no excuse for my obsession with this fandom trope (and with crack!fic in general), because it’s FUN!

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Alternate Universe, Conventional (Canon) Couple, Crack!Fic, Deviates from canon at or post-Hunsford, Drama/Angst, Elizabeth is wealthy, titled, or connected, Era: Regency, Het: M/F, Kidnapping, Lost or rediscovered family connections, Main Character Death, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Original Character featured, Pride & Prejudice, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

