Sins of the Fathers by Jan H

Story: Sins of the Fathers
Author: Jan H
Story URL: Story Link
Word count: 103,000
Rating: All
Summary: Elizabeth learns the shocking news that if she engages herself to Mr. Darcy, it would be a sin against heaven itself.

Gioia’s Rec:
You angst nuts will LOVE this story. It’s definitely one of the best JA stories I’ve encountered. Absolutely gripping and heart-wrenching. Yet, I loved it.
My Only Critique: Lots of angst.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Alternate Universe, ANGST! ANGST! ANGST!, Conventional (Canon) Couple, Deviates from canon at or post-Lambton, Drama/Angst, Era: Regency, Favorite Story, Favorite Story-Pride & Prejudice, Friendship/Mentorship, Het: M/F, Longer road to resolution, Lost or rediscovered family connections, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Mystery/Suspense, Original Character featured, Pride & Prejudice, Religious/Faith/Spiritual element, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sins of the Fathers by Jan H

  1. Susie says:

    It’s one of my favorites! Jan H has become my favorite P&P variation author. I love every one of her stories.

  2. Gioia says:

    It really is spectacular, isn’t it? I’ve sat down several times to re-write this rec, as it’s unconscionably brief. But the truth is, this story just leaves me speechless. I find that each of my attempts at a more verbose rec were little more than fangirly squeeling! I’m hoping this story is in the process of getting published, since it’s too good to disappear. I’ve seduced several friends into the P&P fandom with the help of this story! 🙂

  3. Susie says:

    I noticed that several of her other books were published and are receiving good reviews. I’m very happy for her. My only complaint is that she doesn’t write often. One story every couple of years is killing me! 🙂

    • Gioia says:

      Amen to that! Over the years, I’ve tried to convince a few such talented authors to ignore their daily lives and concentrate on writing for ME. Sadly, they all seem to expect me to supply nannies, salaries, etc. in exchange for such single-minded devotion to the worthy cause of my perpetual entertainment. Le sigh.

      😉

  4. Belle says:

    Hi Gioia,
    I read the first few chapters of this fic a few years ago and I really wanted to read the whole thing now, do you know where I can find it? Thanks 🙂

  5. Lisa says:

    Just FYI, this story was just released this March under a new title, A Peculiar Connection, available for purchase! http://www.amazon.com/A-Peculiar-Connection-Jan-Hahn-ebook/dp/B00UMEELFO

Leave a Reply

