The Other Bingley by Lissa

Story: The Other Bingley
Author: Lissa
Story URL: Story Link
Word count: 43,600
Rating: Mature
Summary: N/a

Gioia’s Rec:
I’ve encountered multiple P&P fics in which an OC is added to the mix in order to resolve things more quickly. This is one of the few which I think has a plot well-developed and unique enough in its own right to merit the creation of the OC as a means of diverging from canon. (Too many times the OCs are so Mary-Sue-ish that they are laughable, or their inclusion doesn’t change much anyway.) I like the way Darcy and Elizabeth’s problems aren’t instantly resolved in this fic – they just find other hurdles and other means to overcome them. However, the fic is generally angst-free, which is exactly as I prefer.
My only critique: There are some minor typos, and I must reluctantly admit that the OC is a tad bit Mary Sue-ish, though I maintain that she is far better than one would expect.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Conventional (Canon) Couple, Deviates from canon prior to Hunsford, Era: Regency, Fluff, Friendship/Mentorship, Het: M/F, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Pride & Prejudice, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

