Sirius’ Intentions by Debra Anne

Story: Sirius’ Intentions
Author: Debra Anne
Story URL: Rated PG VersionRated Mature Version
Word count: 81,600
Summary: Darcy and Elizabeth are helped along by her dog and perhaps another non-canon character or two.

Gioia’s Rec:
This was a fun what-if scenario in which the plot of P&P is resolved much quicker when Darcy and Elizabeth discover their mutual love of dogs. The story is well-written and the plot was quite fun.  I loved the humorous ways Miss. Bingley is handled in this story, as I’m very fond of the stories which include a little schadenfreude in regards to my favorite fortune hunter.

The light, captivating story is a favorite pick-me-up.  I can’t begin to count the number of times I’ve returned to this story to de-stress.  There is such a teasing, whimsical tone to the narrative that it is quite easy to get sucked into the story, as I fell in love with it just as quickly as Mr. Darcy fell in love with Lizzy’s own teasing, whimsical personality.

My Only Critique: OOC behavior in spots, but only in the sense that the behavior takes the story in the slightly-AU direction that the author intended (e.g., a mutual love of dogs); this is not really a criticism. The story does contain some minor typos and fanon (vs. canon) details, but those details are playful, tongue-in-cheek additions (an orange slipper factors in) which were fun to encounter.  However, I must reluctantly confess that in my own personal opinion there was an over abundance of links to outside source material.  Even then I’ll admit to being a hypocrite, as I’m notorious for doing the same thing to my friends, as I get easily caught up in research details. 🙂

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Conventional (Canon) Couple, Era: Regency, Fluff, Het: M/F, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Pride & Prejudice, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

