Speak Not Against the Sun by Amy Robertson (4GiveMeJane)

Story: Speak Not Against the Sun
Author: Amy Robertson (4GiveMeJane)
Story URL: Story Link
Word count: 76,200
Rating: All
Summary: Not being able to breath the air at Longbourn after Collins’ long-winded and presumptuous proposal, Elizabeth heads for the woods where she runs as fast and as far as she can. Not being able to watch his friend Bingley mope while tying up loose ends at Netherfield, Darcy goes for a last ride before the entire party departs for London. Their individual escapes collide, and neither Elizabeth nor Darcy can escape the consequences.

Gioia’s Rec:
Wow, was this ever good!  It wasn’t the rapid acceleration of events that I initially expected, but neither was it the vapid rehashing of fanon I feared.  This story featured surprisingly creative plot development, real depth, delightful moments of fun and humor, and spectacular characterizations. It was interesting how the author took the characters on such a vastly different journey from such a firmly entrenched kick-off point in canon and yet managed to achieve fantastic character growth in spite of skipping Jane Austen’s intended journey.
My Only Critique: Angst.  This isn’t fluff. It’s a very character-driven, introspective piece with a vastly different plot, and as a result there is definite angst here. However, it’s not as gut-wrenching or as woe-as-me, wallowing-in-misery as it would’ve been in the hands of a less talented author. There’s a purpose to everything here and the angst isn’t drawn out or embellished in order to elicit easy audience reactions.  The fact that I, the angst-phobe, have this fic marked as a favorite should say quite a bit in that regard.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Conventional (Canon) Couple, Drama/Angst, Era: Regency, Favorite Story, Favorite Story-Pride & Prejudice, Het: M/F, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Pride & Prejudice, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Speak Not Against the Sun by Amy Robertson (4GiveMeJane)

  1. gensing says:

    I started this last night thinking to read it slowly over the next few days and ended up reading it straight through to the end, ignoring any other plans I had for the weekend! I want to write more but I find I am just rehashing your praise. I will say that the humour expressed in Elizabeth’s inner dialogs were just perfect. French Gypsy Pirates, indeed!

    • Gioia says:

      I’m so happy to know you enjoyed it as much as I did! I absolutely agree with you: Elizabeth’s inner dialogues are a HOOT. I think that may be what makes the fic for me! Thanks so much for taking the time to reply!

Leave a Reply

