Perfect Fit by Linda (booknut)

Story: Perfect Fit
Author: Linda (booknut)
Story URL: Story Link
Word count: 185,400
Rating: Mature
Summary: Darcy stumbles upon Elizabeth at his cousin Anne’s wedding, ruining her shoe but charming her heart.

Gioia’s Rec:
This is the first “modern” adaptation I ever read, and I didn’t regret it.  In fact, I’ve come back to re-read it more than once. I stepped outside my comfort zone with this one because I so liked the author’s regency fics, and the description on this sounded relatively angst-free. I liked how the author applied a modern adaptation to the classic tale. The culture-shock issues that Elizabeth faced were nicely chosen modern alternatives to what is seen in Regency fics.  This story has set the standard for me in my expectations for all other modern adaptations; a rather high standard that few stories can meet!

My Only Critique: Some of the other character pairings were a bit hard for me to swallow, not because they didn’t work for her characters, but because it was hard for me to picture the canon characters (albeit modernized versions of them) in those situations. I had a hard time liking Anne after the scene at the beach house, too. I loathed that moment in the story.  Not because of any fault on the author’s part – quite the contrary!  I was simply sucked in to the story so thoroughly that I wanted to smack the character’s around. 😀  I just might possibly have a tendency to get a bit too caught up in a captivating story.

As I always do with modern adaptations, this fic is marked as containing out-of-character (OOC) behavior. That is not a critique, but simply a tag to indicate purposeful changes in the characterizations due to the modern setting. E.g., fics in which Elizabeth as an  independent, working woman or Mrs. Bennet is a former dancer, etc.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Chick Lit, Conventional (Canon) Couple, Drama/Angst, Era: Modern, Fluff, Het: M/F, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Out-of-character behavior (Deliberate), Pride & Prejudice, Published Novel, Resolution earlier than in canon, Romance, Unconventional Couple and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

