Draco: Phoenix Rising by Cheryl Dyson

Story Title: Draco: Phoenix Rising
Author Name: Cheryl Dyson
Story Url: Story Link 1
Alternate Url: Story Link 2
Content Rating: Teen
Status: Completed
Length: Epic
Story Summary: Shortly after Dumbledore’s death, Draco ponders his fate and begins to question the Dark Lord’s wishes. This is my version of Book 7 using JKR’s plotlines and ZERO original characters! Begins right after The HalfBlood Prince.

Gioia’s Rec:
I was absolutely delighted with this fic.  DMHG is not a pairing I frequently read, so I wasn’t sure what to expect.  The author not only sells the pairing, she also did a fantastic job creating a captivating alternative to Deathly Hallows.  The fic is written pre-DH, a fact which I found myself repeatedly re-checking due to several prophetically on-target plot points. The rapid pacing in this story is maintained throughout the fic without sacrificing careful character development and shrewdly crafted plot twists.  I’m particularly happy with the depiction of Harry.  Snape’s characterization was a stroke of brilliance, though.  I’m rather in awe of how well he was written.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, Conventional (Canon) Couple, Draco Malfoy/Hermione Granger, Drama/Angst, Harry Potter, Harry Potter/Ginny Weasley, Het: M/F, Spoilers for Half-Blood Prince, Unconventional Couple and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

