The Lesson of a Lifetime by Alicia M.

Story: The Lesson of a Lifetime
Author: Alicia M.
Story URL: Story Link
Word count: 2,900
Rating: All
Summary: Unable to secure her own happiness, Lady Mendelson works to secure her daughter’s.

Gioia’s Rec:
The canon identity of Lady Mendelson will come as no great surprise, but I won’t reveal it here since the story is so short. Suffice it to say that although Lady M deserves to be unhappy for her petty, selfish behavior, I didn’t find myself delighted by it. Instead, I was better able to understand the pity with which the Darcys approach Lady Mendelson’s impending nuptials when they congratulated her, according to Lady M’s recollections. This is an interesting short story, and it made me think a lot about my own character afterwards. And while it isn’t exactly a happy story, due to Lady M’s foolish choices, you’ll find it has a happy ending that will leave you smiling.
My only critique: I wish there were just a tiny bit more, as I would’ve liked to know what happened next! However, I must admit that from a writing standpoint, the concluding moment was very well chosen.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Conventional (Canon) Couple, Drama/Angst, Era: Regency, Het: M/F, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Original Character featured, post-canon setting, Pride & Prejudice and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

