Maxeo and Lizziet by Breathless

Story:  Maxeo and Lizziet
Author:  Breathless
Story URL: Story Link
Word count:  180,000+
Rating:  Adult
Summary:  This story takes place during senior year at West Roswell High. There was never a shooting at the Crashdown Café. Liz Parker was never shot, and Max Evans never had to save her life. Consequentially, the word never spread of a strange happening in a little town in New Mexico, because it never happened. Nasedo never heard about it, so he never showed up. He never brought that blonde bitch – um, Tess, with him. Max never lost his virginity to Tess, because she never showed up. Max never got Tess pregnant because, well, you get the gist.

Max, Michael and Isabel have no idea what they are or where they came from, or why they are here. All they know for sure is that they are not of this world, and they’ve been hiding their entire lives.

Oh, and there’s one other thing . . . Max Evans has always been in love with a girl named Liz Parker.

Gioia’s Rec:
Maxeo and Lizziet is the fic I suggested to an angst-phobic friend after the end of Roswell’s second season left her deeply upset in a way that the third season was certainly incapable of remedying.  While there is some minor angst here, the conflicts come from outside the couple, not from horrible, illogical breakups and hurdles. Breathless states that she was deeply offended by Roswell creator Jason Katims’ quote in relation to Max and Liz, “A happy couple is a boring couple.”  This was her response.

The story assumes that Liz was never shot, and so the story is AU from the start since the Pilot episode doesn’t happen. What would the remainder of high school have been like for all the destined members of the Pod Squad without that event?  As with some of the other fics I recommend, it can be said of this story that it is not alone in using this premise.  However, I love this author’s answer to that question the best.  Max is still the shy but devoted boy we loved in the Pilot. Liz is still secretly crushing on him, but convinced that he’d never give her a second glance.  But perhaps best of all for Max/Liz fans, Tess does not appear in this story.

I’ve re-read this fic more times than I could count, and I always end it wishing that the false-spoilers for the season finale, predicting a Redux! conclusion, might have resulted in a story such as this one.  It’s romantic, it’s sweet, it’s insightful in regards to teenage behavior, and it’s a perfect example of why Jason Katims is still on my hit list, more than 10 years after Roswell first aired. He should have been taking lessons from Breathless on why a happy couple is most certainly NOT a boring couple when in the hands of a gifted writer.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Alex/Isabel: Stargazer, Alternate Universe, Content Rating-Roswell: Adult (NC-17), Conventional (Canon) Couple, Drama/Angst, Favorite Story, Favorite Story-Roswell, Fluff, Het: M/F, Max/Liz: Dreamer, Michael/Maria: Candy, Romance, Roswell, Sci-Fi and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maxeo and Lizziet by Breathless

  1. Marte says:

    I come back to this story from time to time; this is the third or fourth time I’ll read it. I didn’t even watch all of Roswell, just enough for me to see the characters and know some of the backstory. I have no need to seek out other fan fiction, but I want to thank you for introducing me to this story.
    I hope your family is well.

    • Gioia says:

      Hi, Marte! Thank you so much for your remark. You know it delights me to hear what’s captured your own interest. This story is one of my absolute favorites, too, and like you, I go back and re-read it periodically. It’s the literary equivalent of comfort food or warm socks or a purring cat on my lap – this fic just makes me feel happy inside.

      Things are improving with our family, thank God. Looks like we may have a diagnosis for my husband, and there is a treatment. We have hope now. Thank you for asking!
      *Hugs*

Leave a Reply

