Burn for Me by Kath7

Story: Burn for Me
Author: Kath7
Story URL: Story Link
Word Count : 55,229
Rating:  Teen
Summary: This story is taken from a challenge by Lullaby. It is set about five years post-Destiny. Liz disappeared following her and Max’s leap of faith off that bridge. This is a dreamer story, but will not start that way. Why, will be obvious pretty quickly. It will not last long.

Gioia’s Rec:
Let me be clear that I am very biased in recommending this story, as I served as one of its betas.  If I were making any pretense about this blog being an objective listing, then I would not be able to rec a story in which I was involved in the writing process. But I make no such claims, so there you have it.

Burn for Me might be considered a crossover as it carries over some plot points from one of my favorite 19th century novels. To avoid spoiling the story, I won’t say which novel, but the ending of this story still takes my breath away, even years after it was written, thanks to the absolutely beautiful way that Kath integrates that classic plot device into a Roswell setting. I’m struggling to adequately praise or even describe this fic without ruining it for readers. Let me simply say that this is possibly the most meaningful, character-rich, and deeply moving fanfic that exists in the Roswell fandom. The adapted plot device isn’t used gratuitously nor as a cheap fix, but as a way to illustrate the potential that already existed in at least one character and is absolutely believable in another, thanks to Kath’s fantastic skills in character and plot development. I feel as though I have a better grasp on the nature of love as a result of having read this. And although there is some serious angst in this fic, the conclusion is just magnificent and makes it all worth it. Considering how angst-phobic I am, the fact that I’m completely captivated by this story should say something.

Kath’s stories are available at RoswellFanatics.net and at FanFiction.net. I doubt there is another author in this fandom who has a better grasp of canon, the false rumors, spoilers, redacted plot threads, story arcs and characterizations for Roswell, and her stories reflect that greater understanding.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, Amnesia, ANGST! ANGST! ANGST!, Content Rating-Roswell: Teen (PG-13), Conventional (Canon) Couple, Crossover, Drama/Angst, Favorite Story, Favorite Story-Roswell, Het: M/F, Kidnapping, Main Character Death, Max/Liz: Dreamer, Mystery/Suspense, Non-con/Reluctant Situation, Reunion-fic, Romance, Roswell, Sci-Fi, Spoilers for Roswell Season 1, Tragedy, Unconventional Couple, Zan/Liz: Awakened Dreamer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Burn for Me by Kath7

  1. This was a REALLY good story. It captivated me from beginning to end and I just could not stop reading until it was over. The story was well written and I could tell that the author, Kath, loved the Roswell characters… all of them… which is part of what, for me, attracts or detracts to a story. I think my sole complaint on this story would be the wavering between past and present tense, but even that wasn’t bad enough to make me stop reading or loving this story any less. It was beautiful. It made me cry. It made me laugh. It made me want to know more about these wonderful people.

Leave a Reply

