Innocent by Mockingbird39

Story: Innocent
Author: Mockingbird39
Story URL: Story Link
Word Count: 260,000
Rating: Mature
Summary: It’s been ten years since Liz Parker brought Max Evans back from the dead, evening the score between them. But now Max needs one more favor.

Gioia’s Rec:
Allow me to be upfront and admit that this recommendation is biased, as Mockingbird39 is a friend, though she did not become so until after I had completely creeped her out by stalking her fics for a few years.

One of my favorite aspects of Mockingbird’s stories is how she brings widely varying parts of the world to life. I’ve never been to St. Petersburg, Santa Monica, Boston (not even in the fall), or Roswell, but thanks to Mockingbird, I feel like I know quite a bit about each locale. She has such a tangible, tactile way of writing that makes me feel like I know what a Dasha bar tastes like, what the Pacific ocean smells like, why the Red Sox are worth cheering for, and how it feels to visit a beloved one in prison.

And there we get into the meat of this story.  Because it isn’t simply Mockingbird’s gifted writing style that sets this story apart, it isn’t even the angst (which, as usual, makes me cringe) or how deftly she handles it, preventing it from drowning out the many beautiful moments.  It’s the captivating drama and adventurous plot.  Mockingbird makes legal work look exciting.  And if that doesn’t adequately illustrate the depth of her talent, I don’t know what will.

Even after all my babbling, I’m still struggling to explain without spoilers why it is that I keep returning to this utterly engrossing story years after I left the Roswell fandom.  Perhaps I should just let the fic’s numerous awards speak for me:  Click Here.

My only critique: Because the author is a horrible, horrible person, she has left the sequel, Helpless, MIA. I’ve attempted to remedy this by threatening her, but unfortunately she remains unimpressed. Apparently she is no longer sufficiently creeped out by my stalking methods.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, ANGST! ANGST! ANGST!, Baby/Kid-Fic, Content Rating-Roswell: Mature (R), Conventional (Canon) Couple, Drama/Angst, Favorite Story, Favorite Story-Roswell, Friendship/Mentorship, Het: M/F, Max/Liz: Dreamer, Michael/Maria: Candy, Non-con/Reluctant Situation, Original Character/Canon Character, Reunion-fic, Romance, Roswell, Sci-Fi, Spoilers for Roswell Season 3, Unconventional Couple and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Innocent by Mockingbird39

  1. clue says:

    one of the best fics I have ever read and I’ve read this fic countless times.(this and everything to you series by Sylvia) Its very captivating I just wish that the sequel was finished.

Leave a Reply

