Sarah’s Story by Stacy B. (Kalina, aka Kalina Lea)

Story: Sarah’s Story
Author: Stacy B. (Kalina aka Kalina Lea)
Story URL: Story Link 1
Alternate URL: Story Link 2
Word Count: 12,700
Rating: All
Summary: The Bennets’ ladies maid goes with Elizabeth to Pemberley and witnesses the grand love and life of Mrs. Darcy.

Gioia’s Rec:
I love outsider POV pieces, and this is a perfect example of how well a story can be told using that technique.  When Elizabeth’s maid goes with her to Pemberley, she has little more understanding or awareness of Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy’s love affair than anyone else at Longbourn.   So being able to view the relationship of the newly married Darcys through her eyes is very entertaining as she tries to figure out the passionate ups and downs of my favorite fictional couple. The author does a fantastic job of keeping the characters true to canon and true to the time period.  I’ve seen P&P fics in which the relationship between servant and master or mistress is written with a more modern, casual approach than would be appropriate during that era.  So it is interesting seeing how the author of this story kept the relationship historically accurate while emphasizing the affectionate interactions and feelings one would expect when dealing with Elizabeth.
My only critique:  I loved this so much I wish Stacy had written a sequel from the POV of Mr. Darcy’s man!

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Conventional (Canon) Couple, Drama/Angst, Era: Regency, Fluff, Friendship/Mentorship, Gen, Het: M/F, Main Character Death, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Original Character featured, Outsider-POV, post-canon setting, Pride & Prejudice and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sarah’s Story by Stacy B. (Kalina, aka Kalina Lea)

  1. martita says:

    I blame you for making me cry. I wouldn’t have found this story without you. It was lovely.

  2. Susie says:

    I’ve been reading Pride and Prejudice Variations and fanfictions for almost two years now. I can’t believe I just found and read Sarah’s Story. It’s definitely one of the best, if not the best, I’ve read! I can’t find any other P&P fanfictions by Stacy B. Do you know if she has written another?

    • Gioia says:

      Sadly, she has not. She’s amazingly gifted, isn’t she? I first encountered her stories in the Harry Potter fandom, where she writes Snape/Hermione stories in a way that makes sense. She writes Snape with very Darcy-ish characteristics (imagine a Darcy who was brooding, resentful, raised under difficult circumstances, etc.) and Hermione with a touch of Elizabeth Bennet about her (intelligent, frequently misunderstood, attracted to an older man outside of her sphere.) If you’ve never read in that fandom or read that pairing before, it probably seems absurd. I laughed hysterically the first time I saw fanart of Snape and Hermione kissing. How ludicrous! But I promise that Kalina makes it work.

      You can find a list of all her fics in various fandoms here, in case you read outside of P&P: http://kalinalea.livejournal.com/62628.html. Recs for her HP fics are here: http://mujaji.net/kia/?s=kalina.

      I really do wish we could get her to write some more P&P fic, though! I just love how she presents Mr. Darcy from an outsider’s perspective: austere, foreboding, frightening, even; until you get to see his heart. (That, btw, is precisely how she seems to view Snape, except add on the snarky, bitterness that he wraps about him after years of misery.)

      Thanks so much for your comments tonight! 🙂

  3. Susie says:

    Thanks for the links! It does make a lot of sense for Hermione to be attracted to older men. I’m just not sure I want that older man to be Snape. 🙂

    • Gioia says:

      JK Rowling rightly described him as a “deeply, horrible man,” and expressed serious concern about young girls obsessing over the “bad boy.” I agree with her. But those who were captivated by Snape’s persona before books 5 and 6 were released found such interesting potential for a grey character with a mysterious past. Personally, I just ignore all contradictory canon evidence when reading a Snape/Hermione story. In the world of JKR’s universe, it may be laughable and insane to imagine those two paired up. JKR depicted him as a bitter, angry man whose sole capacity for tenderness was focused on the idealized memory of a dead childhood friend. But if one sticks to fanon or early canon characterizations, I’ve found the pairing quite entertaining at times (as evidenced by my recs).

Leave a Reply

