Obsession by Karen A

Story: Obsession
Author: Karen A
Story URL: Story Link
Alternate URL: Story Link
(Register at this site to access the password HERE to the MRR [Meryton Reading Room])
Word Count: 207,000
Rating: Adult
Summary: No Summary Provided, but the JAFF Index lists the story in the following categories:
* Novel’s characters, but original modern story
* Story set in U.S. Deep South
* Violence, non-sexual
* Violence, sexual
* Takes place throughout 21st century
* More prominent Mary Bennet

Gioia’s Rec:
I stayed up till 4am one night and pulled an all-nighter the next in order to read this fic. I am too flippin’ old to be pulling all-nighters, so I hate it when a story has me so completely captivated that I can’t sleep without finding out what happens next. However this story had me utterly engrossed, so much so that I barely noticed time passing as I raced my way through the adventurous romance.

The close dynamic of the Bennet family was a delightful surprise to me, since most of the modern adaptations I’ve encountered (not that I’ve read many thus far) adhered closely enough to canon that, in a modern context, there wasn’t the same kind of unity that I see in this story. Lydia is still Lydia, but in this fic we see a loyalty, interest and abiding love among the Bennets that I greatly enjoyed. I also very much enjoyed Elizabeth’s two grandmothers, whose inclusion was a very funny treat!

In fact, in spite of how much of a nail-biter this story could be, there were numerous moments that had me giggling. One of my favorite of those moments was the startling and absolutely hilarious insertion of a bit of canon!Elizabeth Bennet dialogue coming out of Obsession!Mary Bennet’s mouth during a stressful moment towards the end of the fic. In fact, Mary Bennet’s role in this story was just a scream overall. I loved it! It was definitely OOC (out of character) when compared to canon!Mary, but it actually made a lot of sense that this is how her character would translate into a modern setting.

But in the end it’s the great relationship between Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy which sells the story along with the author’s creative approach to the villainous antagonist and his plans to hurt our favorite couple. There was enough drama and suspense to keep the story snappy without being so gratuitously angsty or weepy as to trigger my angst-phobia. So while this isn’t a fluffy tale, the focus was more on the dramatic tension than any inward conflict between Elizabeth and Darcy. And that’s just the way I like it.

My only critique: There were a few spots where commas were misplaced and your/you’re were swapped (a pet peeve of mine, so I’m rather sensitive to that one, but only caught it 2 or 3 times), but otherwise the story’s composition was absolutely perfect and I would beg for a sequel -even a brief one-shot!- given the opportunity.

As I always do with modern adaptations, this fic is marked as containing out-of-character (OOC) behavior. That is not a critique, but simply a tag to indicate purposeful changes in the characterizations due to the modern setting. E.g., fics in which Elizabeth as an  independent, working woman or Mrs. Bennet is a former dancer, etc.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, Conventional (Canon) Couple, Drama/Angst, Era: Modern, Friendship/Mentorship, Het: M/F, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Mr. Wickham/Lydia Bennet, Mystery/Suspense, Non-con/Reluctant Situation, Out-of-character behavior (Deliberate), Pride & Prejudice, Prior Relationship for Elizabeth or Darcy, Rivals vying for Darcy's or Elizabeth's affections, Romance, Violence or Abuse-Non-sexual, Violence or Abuse-Sexual and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

