Miss Bennet and the Frog by Kathy

Story: Miss Bennet and the Frog
Author: Kathy
Story URL: Story Link
Word count: 11,000
Rating: All
Summary: Elizabeth Bennet crosses paths with a frog one day in the woods. Finding a willing eardrum, she soon befriends the beast, sharing with it the tales of human Hertfordshire society.

Gioia’s Rec:
This story is one of those rare P&P fic in which the author adds a mystical, fantastical element in order to create a story which is absolutely delightful while still keeping true to the canon characterization.  I loved how naturally the classical fable was woven into Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy’s story. This was a perfectly lovely tale!
My only critique: In situations such as these it is so hard to stick to my resolution to add a critical element to each P&P fic recommendation! The story has no technical faults for me to comment upon, such as typos or other writing errors, and the story is too short to run into the common difficulties that many longer fics have. So I’ll fall back on my old complaint in these cases: I wish there were an epilogue or short sequel, as it would be lovely to see a glimpse of their future, particularly given the minor concern and quip at the end of the story.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Conventional (Canon) Couple, Deviates from canon at or after Meryton Assembly, Era: Regency, Fantasy/Folklore/Mythology, Fluff, Het: M/F, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Pride & Prejudice, Resolution earlier than in canon, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

