Of All Indignities by Gretomy

Story: Of All Indignities
Author: Gretomy
Story URL: Story Link (Must create account & login to see story)
Status: WIP (See ETA note at bottom. Last updated 06.2013)
Word count: Novel-length (39 chapters as of 06.2013)
Rating: All
Summary: The arrival of the mysterious Bennet family to Longbourn throws the Netherfield party into quite a state and the rest of Hertfordshire into a frenzy. Amongst matchmaking mamas (and sisters) and misconceptions and whilst still healing from traumatic past experiences, members from both party begin to learn that perhaps a little indignity is needed before they can truly begin to understand one another.

Gioia’s Rec:
There are numerous stories in this trope, in which the Bennets have more money or better connections than Mr. Darcy realizes when he first snubs Elizabeth.  However this is one of my absolute favorites. The inclusion of a Bennet son works beautifully in this completely AU story, creating a family that is completely familiar and altogether different from the one in canon.  I loved the characterizations, loved the edge-of-my-seat suspense in a few spots, and really, utterly adored how well the author’s original characters fit in naturally with this universe.  It was wonderful to see the close relationship between all the Bennet siblings, particularly in terms of how that loyalty results, in the final chapters of this fic, in decisions which surprised me, but are completely in keeping with Gretomy’s characterizations
My only critique: I loved this story so much that, although I was fully aware the story was MIA (last updated July 2008) when I began reading it, the very fact of its abandonment nearly drove me into a nervous fit that would have put Mrs. Bennet to shame. And while nothing is resolved at the point when this story ends, at least it didn’t stop on a brutal cliffhanger.

Edited to Add: I was delighted to see the author updated the story in June 2013!  Do note that this story stretches across 3 pages on AHA’s forum. When you reach the bottom of the page, look for the linked page numbers in the bottom, left-hand corner, just above the Facebook “Like” button.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Alternate Universe, Bennets have a son, Conventional (Canon) Couple, Crack!Fic, Drama/Angst, Elizabeth is wealthy, titled, or connected, Era: Regency, Friendship/Mentorship, Het: M/F, Main Character Death, Meetings prior to canon, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Mr. Wickham/Lydia Bennet, Non-con/Reluctant Situation, Original Character featured, Pride & Prejudice, Rivals vying for Darcy's or Elizabeth's affections, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Of All Indignities by Gretomy

  1. Billie Barrett says:

    The up side – this is a GREAT story!! The many down sides – I’m sorry I starting reading this UNFINISHED story, sorry I didn’t pay more attention to the review (WIP part), sorry there’s no way of knowing when and if this story will continue and/or end, and sorry I have to now find another story.

    • Gioia says:

      Oh! How I feel your pain! 🙂 The WIP status of this particular fic nearly did me in, lol! There aren’t any others quite the same as this story, of course, but if you’re enjoying this subgenre, perhaps you’ll enjoy some of the others in this category? Currently only 9 of the 364 fics rec’d here are unfinished, so at least that won’t be a frequent problem.

  2. Billie Barrett says:

    Thank you for replying. You are right – I have read all the other stories in that category and enjoyed them very much. In fact I am having so much fun reading all the various P&P variations, on your sight, that I have not picked up a book or my Kindle for days and days!!! Thanks for the great reads. 🙂

  3. Renee says:

    A very good fanfic
    I love the Bingley and Jane angst. This is the most likeable and sympathetic Louisa Hurst, I have come across in fanfic. I see the story has not been updated in more then two yrs. I hope the writer is fine, that she has just gotten busy with work and family.

  4. nita says:

    hey…..how do i access the story??

    • Gioia says:

      Hi, Nita! You will need to create and log in to your account at the AHA website in order to read this story. Once you are logged in, try the above link again and it will take you straight to the story. Hope that helps!

  5. nabanita says:

    hey….i tried to access the story after logging in but they’re showing error…..what do i do???pls help…..

    • Gioia says:

      Hi, Nita,
      Did you login and then click again on that Original Link To The Story? The story link is working just fine for me. If you are still having trouble, I’d suggest you use a different browser (e.g., Google Chrome, Firefox, etc.). If you still can’t see the story, try asking for help from that web site’s support staff. I’m not affiliated with them in any way, so I’m afraid that’s all the advice I have. 😦 Good luck!

  6. nabanita says:

    thank u i finally got the story……thanks a lot…..:):)

Leave a Reply

