When Least Expected by Lucy

Story: When Least Expected
Author: Lucy
Story URL: Story Link
Word count: 9,500
Rating: All
Summary: Though he gave his consent to Mr. Darcy, Mr. Bennet still has reservations about his new son-in-law. With a desire to understand the man better, Mr. Bennet heads towards Pemberley.

Gioia’s Rec:
I really liked this story; it’s one of my favorites. Five months after the wedding, Mr. Bennet learns to better understand Mr. Darcy by visiting Pemberly. His reflections and observations make this a very happy story. I’ve seen several post-canon stories in which the Darcys’ married life is either fraught with angst and troubles or, frankly, is boring.  This story is a lovely example of how a happy couple can still be fun to observe.

One of my favorite scenes in this story is a conversation between Mr. Darcy and Mr. Bennet.  In it, Mr. Darcy expresses what a gift Elizabeth’s refusal at Hunsford was to him.  This conversation perfectly exemplifies why I don’t generally care for stories in which Elizabeth accepts that first proposal and marries him without love on her part (at least initially).  It seems to me that such scenarios cheat Darcy, and subsequently Elizabeth, out of the joy and confidence that is plainly displayed in When Least Expected.

And while I’m at it, I love all of this author’s stories and can heartily endorse anything Lucy has written.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Character Study, Conventional (Canon) Couple, Era: Regency, Favorite Story, Favorite Story-Pride & Prejudice, Fluff, Gen, Het: M/F, Introspective, Missing Moment, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Outsider-POV, post-canon setting, Pride & Prejudice, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

