Keep Faith by St Margarets

Story Title: Keep Faith
Author Name: St Margarets
Story Url: Story Link
Content Rating: All Ages
Status: Completed
Length: Short Story
Story Summary: Holly Jordan listens to Potterwatch. A missing moment from Chapter Twenty-Two of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.

Gioia’s Rec:
I don’t know exactly why it is that I always cry when I read this story. It’s not a sad story, really. Based during the darkest days of Deathly Hallows it’s not exactly cheerful, though there is definite humor there. And it isn’t that the romance is so overwhelming that it makes me cry, although the relationship between Lee Jordan and Holly (Kirke) Jordan is so real in this short piece, that I actually ran to the hp-lexicon to verify that Holly isn’t a canon character. (Holly’s Scottish Gran is so spectacularly tangible, too, that I’ll swear she’d be walking around Hogsmeade now if she hadn’t been confined to this fic.)

No, I think it’s something about the strong hope in this story that really touches me. If Winston Churchill wrote fanfic, this is what it would look like. St Margaret’s meticulously drafted characters express such perseverance in the face of adversity, such determination under subjugation, that I felt completely inspired and encouraged – as if the war they were fighting was real! The fact that the author sucks her readers in that completely with so little text speaks volumes about her talent.

I’ve never read St Margaret’s novel-length story, Lee Jordan: Tour Guide, from which Holly is taken, so don’t feel that you need to read that in order to appreciate this short story. This story feels far more like an essential, vivid backdrop to Deathly Hallows, which you absolutely will need to read first, than to St Margaret’s other fics.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, Drama/Angst, Harry Potter, Het: M/F, Missing Moment, Original Character featured, Original Character/Canon Character, Outsider-POV, Spoilers for Deathly Hallows and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

