Oh, Boy! I’m a Wizard! by Human Tales

Story Title: Oh, Boy! I’m a Wizard!
Author Name: Human Tales
Story Url: Story Link 1
Alternate Url: Story Link 2
Content Rating: Parental Guidance
Status: Completed
Length: Novella
Story Summary: Dr. Sam Beckett leaps into a sixteen-year-old English schoolboy. Harry Potter. Written for Sycophant Hex’s The Sky Is Falling festival. Pre-DH

Gioia’s Rec:
As excited as I was to go across the country to college 20 years ago, one disappointment I’ve always had was that I missed out on the last three seasons of a favorite show, Quantum Leap.  So although it’s been two decades since I’ve seen the show and I’ve never read stories in that fandom, when I found out one of my favorite authors, Human Tales, had written a Harry Potter/Quantum Leap crossover, I just knew it would be brilliant.  I was right.

Written pre-DH, this story is set during OotP and features Quantum Leap‘s Sam Beckett, whose latest “jump” lands Sam lands in Harry Potter’s body shortly before Harry’s OWL exams.  The pivotal nature of that moment in Harry’s history makes the fic extremely exciting, as Sam and his partner, Al, attempt to make sure Harry and his friends live to see the school year end.

As I’ve mentioned before, I love stories that allow us to view the wizarding world through the eyes of outsiders. This story is particularly captivating, with fantastic action sequences, gratifying “if-only” scenarios, and intriguing glimpses into other characters (such as Snape) whom Harry was unable to view with the adult’s perspective that Sam has.  And the crossover between sci-fi and fantasy works especially well her.

This is definitely a must-read!  Now if only I could find a way to convince Human Tales to write a sequel… 🙂

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, Crossover, Drama/Angst, Favorite Story, Favorite Story-Harry Potter, Friendship/Mentorship, Gen, Harry Potter, Outsider-POV, Sci-Fi, Spoilers for Half-Blood Prince, Spoilers for Order of the Phoenix and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

