The Long Weekend by Julu

Story Title: The Long Weekend
Author Name: Julu
Story Url: Story Link 1
Alternate Url: Story Link 2
Content Rating: Parental Guidance
Status: Completed
Length: Novella
Story Summary: Percy Weasley is ready to break from his past but he doesn’t quite know how until the answer shows up in his flat. Percy/Audrey

Gioia’s Rec:
Post-DH, JKR mentioned that Percy Weasley had married a previously unknown character: Audrey. In this fic, Julu (known on LJ as Julu543) brings Audrey to life with such vivid detail that I had to do online research to verify that the character came entirely from Julu’s imagination (aside from her name, of course).

There are numerous fics in existence that depict the life of a muggleborn on the run during Book 7.   However in many ways, Audrey’s post-war perspective seems to paint a clearer picture than a majority of the fics I’ve read which focused entirely on the chaos prior to the final battle.  Audrey’s dirty, frightened face and her broken spirit speak volumes about what she experienced.

The story opens from Percy’s perspective shortly after the battle, allowing us perceptive insight into the mind of the Weasley’s black sheep.  The grief and regret – the utter sickness that Percy seems to feel about the past – make him easy to sympathize with from the start.

Percy’s strengths are highlighted here in such a way that his flaws make sense.  Through Julu’s eyes, it’s easy to understand how a character who genuinely cares about the well-being of others could have behaved as Percy did during OotP and HBP.  It’s equally easy to see what an enormous asset Percy would be during the rebuilding years after the war.

Years after I read this story, it has stayed with me.  And for me, that’s the mark of a truly great fic: I can’t get it out of my mind and I find that Julu’s Audrey quickly became canon to me.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Conventional (Canon) Couple, Drama/Angst, Harry Potter, Het: M/F, Kidnapping, Missing Moment, Outsider-POV, post-canon setting, Romance, Spoilers for Deathly Hallows, Weasley-centric and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

