Harry Potter and the Legion of Ghosts by samvimes (copperbadge)

Story Title: Harry Potter and the Legion of Ghosts
Author Name: samvimes (copperbadge)
Story Url: Story Link
Content Rating: Parental Guidance
Status: In Progress
Length: Novella
Story Summary: Four years after the events of Deathly Hallows, people have begun to move on, even to forget. For one young soldier of the war, however, the past he laid to rest has begun to resurface, forcing him to question his conceptions of death — and his sanity.

Gioia’s Rec:
I normally don’t recommend stories which are MIA.  However even though this story was never completed (and the author has stated he does not expect to ever do so), it’s worth reading for its unique and captivating premise.

Probably the best and most intriguing post-DH plot I’ve encountered to date, “Legion of Ghosts” has a decidedly “City of Angels” feel to it in some ways – but with a lot more mystery and action and a far, far more unique premise than any comparison might lead you to believe. After Harry’s DH encounter with his deceased loved ones in the Forbidden Forest, I found myself wondering how much they had seen of his life, and how often they would watch what was to come. So I suppose it’s easy to see why I’m fascinated by this fic’s premise and absolutely entranced by the potential here.

In addition, samvimes has never had any trouble nailing his characterizations. Ginny is affectionate but independent, spunky but approachable. Four-year-old Teddy is written extremely well, and writing age-appropriate depictions of children is hard work!  Neville’s sage thoughts about how he, Harry and their peers are coping after the war really struck me and left me thinking.  And I’m very fond of Percy’s brief appearance in this fic, as we didn’t get the opportunity to see much of him in DH. He is exactly as I would imagine him to be – just as pompous and pushy, but fighting for his family now. I could walk through all the characters here, naming everything that the author does right, but instead I’ll just encourage you to go read the story. Sam’s stories never disappoint.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Abandoned, MIA or On Hiatus, Action/Adventure, Baby/Kid-Fic, Character Study, Conventional (Canon) Couple, Drama/Angst, Fantasy/Folklore/Mythology, Favorite Story, Favorite Story-Harry Potter, Friendship/Mentorship, Gen, Harry Potter, Harry Potter/Ginny Weasley, Harry-centric, Het: M/F, Mystery/Suspense, post-canon setting, Ron Weasley/Hermione Granger, Spoilers for Deathly Hallows and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

