Fate and Consequences by Linda (booknut)

Story: Fate and Consequences
Author: Linda (booknut)
Story URL: Story Link 1
Alternate URL: Story Link 2
Word count: 270,100
Rating: Adult
Summary: Darcy arrives at Ramsgate just hours after Georgiana leaves with Wickham. He immediately gives chase to stop the marriage, but can not stop the ruin of their reputations.

Gioia’s Rec:
As with this author’s story, Chance Encounters, this is another tale in which Darcy is much more humble at the time he meets Elizabeth, well before the Meryton assembly. I liked this story even better than Chance Encounters, though, as I felt that there was better groundwork laid for the changes in Darcy’s character. The storyline was very interesting, too. This is a published P&P story.  I’ve read this fic multiple times as it stays with me each time, long after I finish it.

My only critique: This author’s version of Darcy is a bit OOC (purposefully so). Also, I think I’m becoming a P&P elitist :), as I must admit I’m not fond of titles and forms of address used improperly or too casually than was common in that era, such as referring to “Uncle Henry” instead of “Lord Matlock,” or “Lady de Bourgh” instead of “Lady Catherine.” That’s a rather minor quibble, though.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Alternate Universe, Chick Lit, Conventional (Canon) Couple, Era: Regency, Favorite Story, Favorite Story-Pride & Prejudice, Fluff, Het: M/F, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Out-of-character behavior (Deliberate), Pre-canon setting, Pride & Prejudice, Published Novel, Resolution earlier than in canon, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fate and Consequences by Linda (booknut)

  1. Pingback: A Bitter Pill by ldb531 | Gioia Recs…

Leave a Reply

