Lizzy, the Vampire Slayer by Genette

Story Title: Lizzy, the Vampire Slayer
Author Name: Genette
Story Url: Story Link
Content Rating: Parental Guidance
Status: Completed
Length: 89,900
Story Summary: After searching for her for five years, Fitzwilliam Darcy, the latest of a family of Watchers, finally finds the Vampire Slayer–Elizabeth Bennet.

Gioia’s Rec:
My family loves Buffy the Vampire Slayer, so I know the basics of the canon for that show, although I’ve only seen a few episodes (particularly “Once More With Feeling,” played non-stop for days by my daughter).  However, I don’t think you need to be a fan of the TV show, or even know anything about it, to get a kick out of this fun, deliciously crack-ish fic.  Genette’s P&P-based characterizations blended with the Buffy-verse far better than I would have expected, including her meetings with several characters from Joss Whedon’s universe.  If you’ve read the book Pride & Prejudice & Zombies which was published a good decade after this fic, you’ll be able to easily imagine how one could blend such a fantasy element with Jane Austen’s world.  Genette does it beautifully and creates a fic which I enjoyed even more than Pride & Prejudice & Zombies.
My only critique:  Like P&P&Z, there were some times where it felt like the crossover story followed almost too closely to canon, repeating dialogue verbatim from the book.  Unlike P&P&Z, this wasn’t a constant or even frequent occurrence, and I understand Genette’s purpose on those few occasions when she did so.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, Alternate Universe, Conventional (Canon) Couple, Crack!Fic, Crossover, Deviates from canon at or post-Lambton, Drama/Angst, Era: Regency, Fantasy/Folklore/Mythology, Favorite Story, Favorite Story-Pride & Prejudice, Fluff, Het: M/F, Humor/Parody, Kidnapping, Main Character Death, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Mystery/Suspense, Original Character featured, Out-of-character behavior (Deliberate), Pride & Prejudice, Romance, Unconventional Couple, Violence or Abuse-Non-sexual and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lizzy, the Vampire Slayer by Genette

  1. Genette says:

    Thank you for the nice review! I just happened upon it. Yeah… some passages from the original take over. The cop-out excuse is “some things can’t be improved.” 🙂 But I’m glad you understand how that happens and enjoyed the fic overall.

    • Gioia says:

      Oh, I really do love it! I finished my third read-through this past spring, and it’s still one of the fics I recommend most frequently to my friends. Thanks so very much for all of your hard work, Genette! This story is an amazing treat!

Leave a Reply

