Elizabeth ‘Doe’: No Name Person by KarenMC

Story Title: Elizabeth ‘Doe’: No Name Person
Author Name: KarenMC
Story Url: Story Link
Content Rating: Adult
Status: Completed
Length: 42,300
Story Summary: A girl is jogging on the pavement, along the street of the big city. She is nearing the intersection and the light changes, so she enters the zebra crossing. She doesn’t notice the car. The driver – a Mr. Darcy – is distracted by a phone call and doesn’t see that the light has changed to red. The car hits the girl…

The girl loses consciousness for a while, but recovers quite quickly – she is all right physically, she just doesn’t remember a thing. She doesn’t have any identification with her. She is taken under observation in the hospital, but she is fine, apart from the memory loss, so she is released with the address of a homeless shelter and a recommendation to visit a doctor should she have any medical problems. As to the memory loss, they cannot do anything, but it should come back in time.

Meanwhile the driver is feeling guilty. He dislikes to involve himself, but he agrees to give her a ride to the shelter. As he drops her off in front of the place – irritated with herself for not remembering, helpless and clueless about what to do next, and all due to his fault – he feels obliged to help her, so he decides to take her to his place for a couple of days at least….

Gioia’s Rec:
This is a modern adaptation of Pride & Prejudice – I rarely read those.  Its description referred to the story as “A modern piece of angsty plot” – I avoid angst like the plague.  And when I finally got up my nerve to skim the opening chapter, it was well past my bedtime.  Yet in spite of all those things, somehow I found myself finishing the story at 4:00am, more elated than tired, and desperately wishing there were more.

In fact, despite the author’s remark, I really wouldn’t classify this as angsty at all. There is dramatic tension in a few spots as we wonder how things will be resolved, but it’s not gratuitously drawn out, nor is it particularly gut-wrenching.  In short, there’s just enough conflict within the plot to keep the story dynamic and captivating, while still remaining an overall fluffy piece.  It was a perfect balance.

I like how the author developed Mr. Darcy’s character as well as how Elizabeth’s perception of him changed as she came to understand him.  I’ve read stories 4 times the length of this one in which the authors failed to nail the pacing on that development gradually enough for me to buy the eventual romance.  Yet in 42,300 words, this author managed a believable transition of Darcy (both in our perception of him and in terms of his actual growth) from being such a jerk that he was going to ditch Elizabeth at a homeless shelter in flippin’ NYC (I’ve seen those homeless shelters – they can be scary!), knowing he was responsible for her injuries, to a romantic hero I could root for and understand.  What a perfect example of what good character development is all about!
My only critique:  I would’ve liked to have known more about Elizabeth’s family, particularly her sisters, but it really wasn’t necessary for this story.  Come to think of it, there are a lot of things I’d like to know more about.  Perhaps the author should consider a sequel? Hint-hint! 😉

 

As I always do with modern adaptations, this fic is marked as containing out-of-character (OOC) behavior. That is not a critique, but simply a tag to indicate purposeful changes in the characterizations due to the modern setting. E.g., Elizabeth as an  independent, working woman, Mrs. Bennet as a former dancer, etc.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Amnesia, Conventional (Canon) Couple, Drama/Angst, Era: Modern, Fluff, Het: M/F, Hurt/Comfort, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Mystery/Suspense, Out-of-character behavior (Deliberate), Pride & Prejudice, Resolution earlier than in canon, Reunion-fic, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Elizabeth ‘Doe’: No Name Person by KarenMC

  1. KarenMC says:

    Gioia: I just wanted to leave you a thank you for your kind and thoughtful review. This story was a fun one for me to write. It was my ‘sophomore’ effort, so to speak, my second story.
    I’m looking forward to browsing through your site.
    Thanks! 🙂

    • Gioia says:

      Thank you so much for your kind response! The fact that this was only your second story speaks highly of your abilities. I’m really looking forward to reading the rest of your stories!

Leave a Reply

