I Have No Daughter by After the Rain (Lady deMimsy)

Story Title: I Have No Daughter
Author Name: After the Rain (Lady deMimsy)
Story Url: Story Link
Content Rating: All Ages
Status: Completed
Length: Short Story
Story Summary: Hermione’s mother is furious about the measures her daughter took to ensure her parents’ safety during the war.

Gioia’s Rec:
As the first fic I read post-DH, this story does a fantastic job of carrying on with the mood we see in the end of the book. Hermione has made a huge decision on her parents’ behalf – how will they react when she tells them what she’s done?   After The Rain has always been great at looking at the stories from outside POVs, particularly when it comes to climbing inside the minds of the adults on the edges of canon.   As a parent, I found I could completely relate to the dawning horror that Mrs. Granger faces here.  With her typically concise, contemplative writing style, AtR conveys an intelligent, alternate perspective to what Hermione has done.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Character Study, Drama/Angst, Gen, Harry Potter, Hermione-centric, Outsider-POV, post-canon setting, Spoilers for Deathly Hallows and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

