Life Changes by Tobylachat (DarcyDeFirth)

Story Title:  Life Changes
Author Name: Tobylachat (DarcyDeFirth)
Story Url: Story Link
Content Rating: Mature
Status: Completed
Length: 120,000
Story Summary: Time to settle down and find their mates.

Gioia’s Rec:
When I first began reading this addictive story, I didn’t know what to think.  The opening chapters carried such a sense of ennui, as one character rightly labeled the mood, that I feared the story would be one big angst fest and leave me bawling over my laptop.  That fear dissipated the moment an impatient, frustrated Elizabeth (the product of those very necessary opening chapters) set foot at Rosings and gave as good as she got.  Her opening moments with Lady Catherine are some of the funniest I’ve ever seen in print. I’d quote whole passages of it, but I can’t stand the thought of ruining the punchlines for you.

I love the characters in this story.  Georgianna, Anne de Bourgh, Col. Fitzwilliam, our usual protagonists, even the original characters – I love them.  But the most important thing to remember about this story is that it only gets better.  The humor, the character development, the dramatic tension, yes – even those moments of angst that I always whine about. It’s all brilliant and the story just keeps getting better and better. And there are such shriek-out-loud hilarious moments here that my laptop was in serious danger of having water spewed all over it when I would take a drink at the worst possible moments.

While reading this tale, be prepared for some sadness, some angst, a lot of introspective moments, and those phenomenal bits of humor that make the whole thing feel like real life.  Because, if I may bloviate for a bit, isn’t that what life is: a hodgepodge of all of the above? There. That takes care of the 15-minutes of sensible thinking that Mr. Bennet would require of me.  I feel much better now about wanting to go back and giggle over the funny bits again.

“Elevenses.”  *snort*

My Only Criticism:  There were a few figures of speech which I believe weren’t quite in keeping with the Regency era (although please note that I’m no expert), but since they mostly occurred when I was shrieking with laughter, I’m ignoring them.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Alternate Universe, Character Study, Conventional (Canon) Couple, Drama/Angst, Era: Regency, Favorite Story, Favorite Story-Pride & Prejudice, Fluff, Friendship/Mentorship, Het: M/F, Humor/Parody, Hurt/Comfort, Introspective, Main Character Death, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Original Character featured, Original Character/Canon Character, Pride & Prejudice, Romance, Unconventional Couple. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Life Changes by Tobylachat (DarcyDeFirth)

  1. martita says:

    Teatime. *sniggers*

  2. Gioia says:

    Daybreak. Hehehe!

  3. ISara says:

    Read this story a while back on another site, and it’s definetly worth a reread. Absolutley loved the 3 guys at lunch and the last chapter always stuck in my mind.
    ISara

Leave a Reply

