Poor Darcy by Heather F (Quill)

Story: Poor Darcy
Author: Heather F (Quill)
Story URL: Story Link
Word count: 500 words
Rating: All
Summary:  Darcy is forced to admit that his financial situation is not as impressive as everyone suspects.

Gioia’s Rec:
I rarely recommend such short stories, not so much because few authors have the ability to write a complete tale in so few words (though there may be truth in that), but because my shallow need for continuous entertainment makes it difficult for my imagination to be fully satiated with so few words.  However, this story conveyed so much, while leaving many tantalizing clues about the future, that my imagination was absolutely captivated.  I love how fully in-character this out-of-canon experience is.  Because while Mr. Darcy’s behavior might be considered OOC from a certain angle, it is perfectly believable that he would be driven to such lengths.  Another thing I love about this story is the “Caroline set-down,” as the JAFF index labels it, which occurs without the reader ever laying “eyes” on Miss Bingley.  It is deliciously managed.

When you are finished reading this ficlet, make sure you check out Heather F’s other stories, particularly one of my favorites, “Eternal Flame.”

My Only Critique: I would whine and complain because the story doesn’t take us further into canon, however this story is a perfectly encapsulated moment, and adding to it would turn this ficlet into something entirely different.  So, to soothe the whiner within me, I’m going to just pretend that “Rumour Has It” is a continuation of this story.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Comeuppance/Vindication/Schadenfreude, Era: Regency, Fluff, Friendship/Mentorship, Gen, Humor/Parody, Pre-canon setting, Pride & Prejudice and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Poor Darcy by Heather F (Quill)

  1. Pingback: A Man of No Consequence by Heather F (Quill) | Gioia Recs…

Leave a Reply

