Disenchanted by Kara

Story:  Disenchanted
Author:  Kara
Story URL: Story Link 1
Alternate URL: Story Link 2
Word count:  69,900
Rating:  Teen
Summary: A tale of wizardry, enchantment, disenchantment, and the good and the bad, all thrown in with the characters of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice.

Gioia’s Rec:
Wow, was this ever creative!  It’s not a Harry Potter or Lord of the Rings crossover, but fans of those series will readily appreciate the creative magics and fascinating universe in this very unique magical world.  There is an intriguing mystery which runs throughout this story and which had me completely fooled.  But again, it’s the creative magical world which really captivated me. It’s hard for me to say much about this without spoiling the story, but within the first chapter I had a solid understanding of their magical environment and what it was that the characters valued most (magical ability was mentioned more than dowries, for example) and I was completely mesmerized by the story.

I also really appreciated the way the author integrated canon lines here.  Instead of repeating sections word-for-word and merely adding in references to the fantasy elements, as was done with tedious results in Pride & Prejudice & Zombies, the author very carefully rewords certain scenes. This could have been a disaster, as Jane Austen’s lines are hardly in need of being rephrased, particularly in a Regency-era fic. Instead, I found that by so doing, it kept me from being either pulled out of the story by the abrupt injection of canon text into Kara’s own writing, nor was I constantly finding myself comparing this fic with canon; it stands well on its own merits.  In addition, there were so many moments in which long passages of Jane Austen’s text were needed (such as with the lengthy letter at Hunsford), that simply regurgitating P&P lines verbatim would have been very boring.  I’ve often caught myself skimming such sections when other authors quote P&P text word-for-word within their stories; a very bad habit which yanks me out of the story and causes me to miss any subtle changes the authors were attempting to make. Thus, Kara’s approach worked extremely well here.

The story’s ending is exciting and as inventive as the very magic which forms the basis for this ingenious tale.  As mentioned before, I was very surprised by the resolution to the story’s mystery, yet it all made perfect sense in the end.

My only critique: There are a handful of typos in which the author skipped a preposition or an article mid-sentence, but it was an infrequent goof and never prevented me from understanding a sentence.  I’m certain that I’m guilty of far more typos in a typical 500-word review than were found in this 69,900 word story.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, Alternate Universe, Conventional (Canon) Couple, Era: Regency, Fantasy/Folklore/Mythology, Het: M/F, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Mystery/Suspense, Pride & Prejudice, Prior connections between Darcys and Bennets or related characters, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Disenchanted by Kara

  1. Kara says:

    Thank you so much for this review! I am so pleased that you enjoyed it, and had so many positive things to say. I loved writing this story, and am so glad to see that people are still enjoying reading it.

    Kara

    • Gioia says:

      Thank you for your kind reply! I can’t begin to convey my utter delight with your story, and I’m thrilled to be able to express my thanks for all of your hard work. You really have a lot to be proud of here, particularly in the way you created such a fresh magical environment which didn’t feel at all derivative of other popular fantasy books. This felt wholly yours and yet merged so seamlessly with Jane Austen’s P&P, that the characters didn’t feel wooden or forced in any way. Congratulations on such an amazing work of art!

Leave a Reply

