A Touch of Night by Sarah Hoyt & Sofie Skapski

Story:  A Touch of Night
AuthorSarah Hoyt & Sofie Skapski
ISBN: 978-1-61136-001-1
Story URL: Story Link 1
Alternate URL: Story Link 2
Published Version (w/ add’l scenes): Naked Reader, Amazon or Barnes & Noble (see author’s comment below for details)
Word count:   73,500
Rating:  All
Summary:  A world in which neither Bennets nor Darcys are quite what they seem to be. Secrets long hidden cast long shadows.

Gioia’s Rec:
I love it when stories Wow me as this one did!  As you’ll see by the recent posts, lately I’ve been going through the fantasy genre in the JA fandom.  This fic came as a surprise, as I couldn’t imagine anything new under the sun after reading numerous other creative JA fantasy fics.  But, whoa mama, what a treat!

Just as soon as I thought I had figured out all the secrets in this story, along with who had secrets to hide, the authors pulled the rug out from under me with a major surprise. Then the same thing would happen again. And again.  Either I’m not that perceptive of a reader (quite probable) or they’re very good at subtly weaving hidden plot threads throughout the story, then tripping up my theories by revealing them in the most brilliant spots.

Another thing I liked about this story is the way the authors handled what Elizabeth mistakenly thinks is going on with Mr. Darcy.  Her assumption was understandable and her reaction to that assumption was very much in keeping with the time period.  I appreciated that the authors kept the story true to its time period in that regard.  For her to have reacted any other way would’ve thrown me out of the story by seeming untrue to either her character (had she reacted more harshly) or the era in which she was raised (by behaving less so).

There were things about the atmosphere and descriptions of society in this story which reminded me of Naomi Novik’s book, His Majesty’s Dragon. (Excellent series, by the way. I strongly endorse it!)  I’m struggling to explain that similarity in tangible terms without spoiling this fic, as it is certainly not that there is any similarity in the creatures.  I’ll just say that if you’ve read that book, you will be quite likely to enjoy this fanfic.

Finally, there are reasons in this story to absolutely love Lydia, Mr. Bennet, and Mr. Collins.  Each of them had me in stitches at times, and I can’t decide which character I love best!

My Only Critique:
The biggest problem with this story is that I was so caught up in the tale, I couldn’t stand to read it at a normal pace, and found myself whizzing through it, desperate to reach the resolutions of each situation.  So I blame the authors for my inability to offer any critique, as I was devouring the fic too voraciously to take notes.  Oh! But I will whine about this: Given the discussion that Darcy and Col. Fitzwilliam have in Chapter Twenty, I really wish we had the chance to see how Mr. Darcy’s fears were subdued.  Obviously everything worked out okay, but still; inquiring minds want to know. 😉

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, Alternate Universe, Chick Lit, Conventional (Canon) Couple, Deviates from canon at or after Jane's illness, Deviates from canon at or post-Hunsford, Deviates from canon at or post-Netherfield Ball, Drama/Angst, Era: Regency, Fantasy/Folklore/Mythology, Fantasy/Folklore/Mythology Novel, Het: M/F, Improved Lydia, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Mystery/Suspense, Pride & Prejudice, Published Novel, Resolution earlier than in canon, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Touch of Night by Sarah Hoyt & Sofie Skapski

  1. Thank you! I don’t think I explained (!) in the prologue to this, but what happened is that I had this trilogy — Heart of Light, Soul of Fire and Heart and Soul — set in this universe that I was trying to market. No one would buy it. To console me, Sofie offered to collaborate with me on this fanfic. Of course, the novels sold immediately after we started it. 🙂
    Also, this fanfic, improved and with more scenes is available for sale at http://nakedreader.com — not that I’m pushing (far from it.) Just informing. Unfortunately we didn’t remedy the scene you found missing. (Grin)

    • Gioia says:

      Thank you so much for your response, Sarah! I love knowing the background behind this awesome story, and I’m delighted to know there is more available! Please don’t feel that you’re being pushy by providing another link to the final product. Quite the contrary! I would have been very disappointed to miss out on the opportunity to read a longer, even more polished version of your story. And I’ll try not to pout too much regarding the absence of that one scene, hehe! Thank you again!

    • Gioia says:

      Sarah, I was interested in purchasing the final version of this story, but I see that the e-store over at nakedreader.com is down. Is there somewhere else I can buy this?

      Thank you!

      • Sure. Amazon, B & N and Smashwords. We’re trying to get the stupid store issue resolved.

        And yeah, I’m still working on A Flaw In Her Magic. It got knocked aside by traditional projects that offered cash upfront. (Sigh. TWO boys in college.)

    • Gioia says:

      Never mind! When I used that link I originally posted up above, it said the e-store was down. But when I browsed through the authors, located the book, and paid for it that way, it let me purchase it! Sorry to trouble you when it worked out just fine in the end!

      Btw, it looks like the JAFF index doesn’t have any of those links for the paid version. Have you thought about listing them there? Maybe it’s just me, but that tends to be the first place I go when looking for alternate links for a JAFF story. 🙂

      And good heavens – you don’t need to apologize for a delay in writing a fanfic in order to work for pay! I’m so excited for you to know things have gone this well. Kudos, major congratulations, and huge hugs on your continued success! The other night my hubby and I were laughing ourselves into hysterics over some of the absolutely dreadful titles and story descriptions for equally dreadful fantasy/erotica books over on amazon. It makes me very, very happy to know that talented authors such as yourself are helping to balance things out with truly good quality literature.

      Finally (excuse the babbling!), I’d love to add my rec to your B&N and Amazon pages. Do you think I’m safe to do so now, before I read the copy I just purchased, or are there enough changes between the versions that my rec is going to need to be re-written?

  2. Oh, yeah, and I’ll finish my Darcy the fairy prince started and looks like abandoned tale at DWG, promise. I’ve just been (thankfully, I guess?) really busy with work-for-pay writing this last year.

    • Gioia says:

      Work-for-pay writing is always an awesome thing! I’m excited to know you plan to finish the fairy prince story (“Between the Night and the Morrow,” right?), as I’m always afraid to start reading MIA stories for fear of a cliffhanger ending. But sacrificing that story for getting paid to write seems like a fair trade to me, lol! So, best wishes to you either way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

