Delusions of Grandeur ~or~ We have Lady Catherine to Thank By michchick (Jennifer H)

Story:  Delusions of Grandeur ~or~ We have Lady Catherine to Thank
Authormichchick (Jennifer H)
Story URL: Story Link 1
Alternate URL: Story Link 2
Word count:   2,300
Rating:  All
Summary:  Will Darcy regularly visits his dear Aunt Cathy who’s a resident at a long-term care facility. She imagines herself to be Lady Catherine and has arranged her dearest Billy’s life including finding him a wife- who may not exist.

Gioia’s Rec:
I wasn’t sure what to expect of this story, and feared it would be too flippant of a look at Alzheimer’s for me to enjoy.  Instead I found a truly touching story, with many extremely humorous moments to keep the mood light.  I don’t read many modern-era P&P renditions, so this is an unusual rec for me.  The story is also quite short, which makes this even more of an oddity or me, as I’m not usually drawn to short stories.  But it really was too moving and fun for me not to recommend this sweet tale.

My only critique:  The talented author has left me with nothing else to complain about except for the length of the fic.  Why must she manage to write such a completely encapsulated tale in so few words?  I would have greatly enjoyed a multi-chaptered fic from this premise! 🙂

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Alternate Universe, Conventional (Canon) Couple, Era: Modern, Fluff, Friendship/Mentorship, Het: M/F, Pride & Prejudice, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

