Taking the Long Road by Delwyn

Story Title: Taking the Long Road
Author Name: Delwyn
Story Url: Story Link
Content Rating: Al l Ages
Status: Completed
Length: 61,400 words
Story Summary: On her way to a ball, where the prince must select his bride, Lyssa Bent meets and falls in love with a young man. She is later startled to learn that not only is this man the prince, but that he wants to marry her.

Gioia’s Rec:
This story was such a surprising treat! I stumbled upon it and had no expectations at all, although once I read the story summary, I thought it might be fairly cliché take on the Cinderella story. That was not at all the case. The story only begins with Lyssa meeting the prince, who falls in love with her almost instantly. That is certainly not the end of the story, especially with two such strong-willed individuals! Lyssa is right to be concerned about how the nobility will accept her, and Will is right to be concerned about her safety. The schemes they concoct to satisfy both concerns keep the story exciting from start to finish. And along the way, both Lyssa and Will experience profound character growth, as they learn to better understand themselves and those they care for. I cannot praise this story highly enough, for Delwyn managed to capture much of the spirit of P&P, while combining that with a fairy tale story that is wholly unique. Fantastic job!

My only critique: This might only matter to canon purists, although I suppose a canon purist probably wouldn’t read enjoy a story as radically AU as this one to begin with. 😉 So this critique is likely moot. However, one particular major decision that Lyssa made (around the time she met Richard; a decision she later called “cowardly”), struck me as probably a bit out of character when compared to canon!Elizabeth Bennet. But I think that opinion is debatable, honestly, and I’m going to have to mull it over further.  Regardless, it worked for this version of Elizabeth/Lyssa.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Alternate Universe, Character Study, Conventional (Canon) Couple, Drama/Angst, Fantasy/Folklore/Mythology, Fluff, Het: M/F, Hurt/Comfort, Introspective, Longer road to resolution, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Pride & Prejudice, Reunion-fic, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Taking the Long Road by Delwyn

  1. Daisy says:

    Hi, I just found your blog today and wanted to thank you for all the wonderful recommendations. I was just starting to run out of fanfics to read. 🙂

    Regarding this story, I have read it before and I agree with your review down to the critique. It’s become one of my favorites.

    Keep posting and having fun reading!

    • Gioia says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words of encouragement. I’m so glad you’re finding use from my recs and enjoying the stories you’ve found or re-discovered here. You made my day! 🙂

  2. TheLadyW says:

    I adore so many of your recommendations. Thank you for sharing them.

    On a more related note, the link connects to the 4th section of the story, not the beginning. Thought you might want to know.

    • Gioia says:

      Thank you so very much for your kind compliment! It means a lot. Thank you, too, for alerting me to the link error. I’ll fix that immediately. 🙂

Leave a Reply

