The Deadlock by Sharni

Story: The Deadlock
Author: Sharni
Story URL: Story Link 1
Story URL: Story Link 2
Word count: 6,000 words
Rating: All
Summary: Set upon Darcy’s return from London after Jane and Bingley’s Engagement. Elizabeth and Darcy accidentally become locked in the Netherfield Library over night. (Some license has been taken with the timing of Jane’s illness.)

Gioia’s Rec:
Sharni is one of my favorite JA fanfic authors, and this story is a perfect example of why I enjoy her style of writing.  “The Deadlock” is light, it’s fluffy, it’s fun, it has a sweet, happy ending, the dialogue is witty and warm, and it helps me to understand the characters better.  Without spoiling this short story, I can only conclude by saying it’s simply lovely!

My only critique: I don’t know that this could be counted as a critique, truly.  But be aware that, as mentioned in her summary, Sharni takes an AU approach to the timing of Jane’s illness at Netherfield, placing it during the final act of Pride & Prejudice, shortly after Jane & Bingley’s engagement and Lady Catherine’s confrontation. As a fan of the usage of AU scenarios in fanfic, this troubles me not at all, but it may bother others who prefer a strict, canon-centric approach to fanfic.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Conventional (Canon) Couple, Deviates from canon at or after Jane's illness, Deviates from canon at or post-Lambton, Era: Regency, Fluff, Het: M/F, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Pride & Prejudice, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Deadlock by Sharni

  1. martita says:

    For once, I’d actually read a story before you recced it! I liked this one, and at the same time I found a new story by booknut – WIP – and very exciting. Imperative, have you read it? There is angst, but most of it is from people and circumstances outside our couple. It’s romantic and sexy, and I cannot wait for the next chapter.

    • Gioia says:

      I’m so glad you enjoyed this one, too! It’s been fun seeing how many fics we both enjoy.

      And, yay! A rec for an author I really like! No, I hadn’t seen Imperative – thank you so much for alerting me to it! I will probably wait till it is completed, because I always have a hard time waiting for updates when I’m immersed in a story. Thankfully, booknut seems to write extremely fast, so I will hopefully not be waiting too long! 🙂 Again – thanks so much for pointing me to it! Obviously, I’m rather fond of receiving fic recs!

Leave a Reply

