All Darcy Could Do by Maria Hope (hopefulro)

Story: All Darcy Could Do
Author: Maria Hope (hopefulro)
Story URL: Story Link
Word count: 5,100
Rating: All
Summary: In this what-if, Darcy realizes before he asks that Elizabeth Bennet is likely to turn down his proposal. His relatives would probably tell him that it’s all for the best.

Gioia’s Rec:
This story packed quite a punch for such a short piece!  I generally stick to rec’ing longer stories, but this fic contained so much possibility and was such a unique yet utterly logical take on how things could’ve occurred, that I couldn’t help but love it.  It made such sense!  As the author explains Darcy’s POV, it is very easy to imagine our canon hero receiving this epiphany and then seeing no other recourse before him but that which Maria Hope lays out, even though (or perhaps because) such behavior is quite in contrast to that which Elizabeth had perceived as characteristic of him up this point.  But aside from the logic, what I really adore is how tender-hearted and open Darcy is in this story.  His emotions are so very tangible, and it is deeply touching to see his feelings so raw.   And finally, I appreciated the conversations between Darcy and Col. Fitzwilliam.  I’m afraid that my enjoyment of fanon means that it’s easy to deceive myself about how the Colonel, and indeed all of Darcy’s family, likely viewed marriage in their circles, based on the attitudes of that era.  The Colonel’s frank discussions added a great touch of realism to this fic.

My only critique: There was one aspect of Elizabeth’s canon rejection at Hunsford which wasn’t addressed directly in this AU take of how events might’ve gone, however I think it’s easy to see assume that it is settled either indirectly, or directly but “off-camera.”

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Conventional (Canon) Couple, Deviates from canon at or post-Hunsford, Drama/Angst, Era: Regency, Fantasy/Folklore/Mythology, Fluff, Het: M/F, Introspective, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Pride & Prejudice, Resolution earlier than in canon, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to All Darcy Could Do by Maria Hope (hopefulro)

  1. Kathy says:

    Oops. Link is incorrect! (I found it through the index, though, and I agree — it really is a great story.)

  2. Gioia says:

    Thank you so very much for your catch – and for letting me know! 🙂

  3. Natalia says:

    First: thank you so much foe your site and those wonderful recs. I would never find those amazing stories without it!

    That story sounds wery interesting. Do you have a correct link or maybe a text file with it? I would really love to read it!

    • Gioia says:

      It looks as if the story has been removed! I’m completely kerflumuxed. I can’t find any trace of it. I’ll leave this rec up for now in the hope that someone else may be able to locate it. I’m so very sorry!

      Thank you for your kind compliments regarding my blog! 🙂

  4. Natalia says:

    Is it that fic? http://www.pemberley.com/bin/fic/ficnew.cgi?read=58659 I’ve found the link for some time ago but wasn’t sure…

    You’re welcome! Keep it up!))))

    • Gioia says:

      That looks like it! I need to re-read it in full to be certain (I’ve just skimmed it), but I believe that is it! Thank you for your sleuthing! I’ll update the link as soon as I’ve re-read the fic in full to verify it’s the same one, and not merely a similar fic based on the same premise or challenge. Grazie mille!

  5. Natalia says:

    Glad i could help!))

Leave a Reply

