A Twist at Lambton by Laura E

Story: A Twist at Lambton
Author: Laura E.
Story URL: Story Link 1
Word Count:  14,600
Rating: All ages
Summary:  By lucky chance, Colonel Forster intercepts Lydia before she can elope. Elizabeth is stuned to hear of what might have happened, but is happy to be in Derbyshire with Mr. Darcy.

Gioia’s Rec:
Truthfully, this is not a story I anticipated recommending, as I’ve recently stumbled upon several JA fics in which the one major alteration to canon which ought to have changed everything, in reality changed very little, creating a rather dull story.  So I must admit I wandered into this story expecting much the same.  Instead I found a story in which the author actually understands how to write a “what-if” fic.  She did a marvelous job of making sure the changes which were made were tracked through to their logical ends, and she didn’t leave any plot threads hanging.  She also neatly avoided a pet peeve of mine in fics such as this: repeating too much of canon verbatim.  It is true that the characters would still have much the same feelings as they did in the canon story line, but placing them in slightly different settings with slightly different circumstances and conversations around them means that their dialogue would, necessarily, also be slightly different.  This author understood that, and managed to reword things just slightly enough to keep the story fresh, but not so much as to detract from Jane Austen’s original, lovely dialogue.  All in all, this was a real treat, and I’m very glad I ran across it.

My Only Critique: There’s a misspelling in the story summary.  That sort of minor goof usually raises red flags for me, but ironically, I don’t recall seeing any other typos or misspellings in the actual story.  So don’t let that turn you off from reading this.  It is very proficient in all technical writing areas.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Conventional (Canon) Couple, Deviates from canon at or post-Lambton, Era: Regency, Fluff, Het: M/F, Hurt/Comfort, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Pride & Prejudice, Resolution earlier than in canon, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

