Sir Darcy, The Determined by Kathy Taylor

Story: Sir Darcy, The Determined
Author: Kathy Taylor
Story URL: Story Link 1
Alternate URL: Story Link 2
Word count: 3,000
Rating: All
Summary: A delay in the postal system failed in Jane’s letters reaching Elizabeth in Lambton when she traveled with her Aunt and Uncle Gardiner until after Darcy had renewed his addresses.

Gioia’s Rec:
How is it that I do not already have this story recommended here, along with numerous other fics by this talented author?  This is one of my favorite fix-it stories set around the time of Lydia’s elopement.  There’s something incredibly swoon-worthy about Mr. Darcy’s take-charge attitude as he swiftly dismisses or overcomes any obstacles that would keep him from Elizabeth’s side.  I swear I’m mentally fanning myself now, just thinking of the final scene in the story. I love this!

My Only Critique:  I’ve got nothing.  I can’t even complain that the story isn’t novel-length, because the point of the fic is to resolve this one issue in canon, and the author does it very neatly and concisely without the need for another 50,000 words to drag out the resolution.  This is perfect just the way it is.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Conventional (Canon) Couple, Deviates from canon at or post-Lambton, Drama/Angst, Era: Regency, Favorite Story, Favorite Story-Pride & Prejudice, Fluff, Het: M/F, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Mr. Wickham/Lydia Bennet, Resolution earlier than in canon, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

