Traps & Arrows by corianderpie

Story Title:  Traps & Arrows
Author Namecorianderpie
Story Url: Story Link 1
Alternate URL: Story Link 2
Content Rating:  NC-17
Status: Completed
Length:  15,417 words
Story Summary:   Minerva takes a break, Hermione takes a new post, Severus takes up the cudgels, Neville takes a risk, Filius takes his chances, and Rolanda takes bets on the outcome.

Gioia’s Rec:
This was a surprising fic for me to find myself recommending.  I found it on a site in which it was paired with a picture of a young Snape playing electric guitar at Hogwarts.  I scoffed.  What an absurd idea – Snape the young rock star? Honestly! (And I used my best, inner-Hermione, swotty voice there, of course!)  So…this would be me, eating my words.

The story doesn’t revolve around that image, for those of you who are scoffing as much as I did at the concept.  It’s about a post-war world in which Hermione finds herself almost cast in the role of Umbridge by Snape, when Professor Granger is sent by Hogwarts (and Professor McGonagall, who then goes on sabbatical) to help unify the houses with some improvements to their programs.  Snape is not amused.  He makes life quite difficult for Hermione, and she turns around and fights him right back.  (Had he forgotten that she was the one who most effectively sabotaged Umbridge?  Hermione has no problems with fighting dirty when she feels challenged!  The rest of the Hogwarts staff, for the most part, sit back and laugh their butts off; that is, when they aren’t taking bets as to who will be winning this war!

There were elements in Traps & Arrows which reminded me of why I also love Much Ado About Nothing, Pride & Prejudice,  and The Marriage Benefit (one of my favorite fanfics).  If you’re a fan of any of those three, I think you’ll enjoy this story, too.  And when you do eventually encounter the reason for that picture of Snape with an electric guitar, I think you’ll find something in the raw honesty of that moment, particularly the discussion afterwards with a certain Hufflepuff, which makes it all seem quite logical.  Fancy that!  Now, I’m off to eat crow.

FYI: The slash tag refers to another couple in the story, off-screen.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Drama/Angst, EWE (Epilogue, What Epilogue?), Fluff, Friendship/Mentorship, Gen, Harry Potter, Hermione-centric, Het: M/F, Humor/Parody, Hurt/Comfort, Romance, Severus Snape/Hermione Granger, Slash, Snape-centric, Spoilers for Deathly Hallows, Unconventional Couple and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

