Night Train to Memphis by Elizabeth Peters (Vicky Bliss Series, Book 5)

Story: Night Train to Memphis
Author: Elizabeth Peters
Story URL: Amazon Link
Page count: 368 pages
Rating: Young Adult
Fantasticfiction.co.uk Summary: Art historian Vicky Bliss cruises the Nile in an attempt to unmask her ex-lover and most dangerous antagonist, Sir John, before he can rob the Cairo Museum.

Gioia’s Rec:
This might be my favorite out of this book series.  I was ready to kill John and felt that Feisal wasn’t entirely fair to Vicky in his accusations. The entire setup was brilliant and very mystifying. Things happened so quickly I had to go back and re-read a few sections, as I have a bad habit of skimming when I get too excited during a dramatic section. Peters isn’t an author you can do that with, as she crams a lot of activity in to a few, subtle words. Great story.

I’m marking this series under the category Historical Novel or Setting because the book series is set prior to the fall of Communism, and that factor comes into play so often, that the books serve as a sort of time capsule from that era.  Sadly, in the last book of the series Peters skipped ahead and set the story in modern times.  But this book, at least, still retains the original charm of the series.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, Het: M/F, Historical Novel or Setting, Mystery/Crime Novel, Mystery/Suspense, Published Novel, Romance, Series and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

