Jed and Friends by DameRuth

Story Title:   Jed and Friends
Author Name: DameRuth
Story Url: Story Link 1
Content Rating:  Adult
Status:  This novel-length series contains several completed short stories and novellas, but the series itself is still a work-in-progress.
Length: Over 45,000 words to date
Story Summary:  The shared adventures of Jedediah Holbrook (who bears an uncanny resemblance to a certain Captain), Rose Tyler and the Doctor in Pete’s World.

Gioia’s Rec:
DameRuth is one of my favorite DW fic authors, and I’ll be upfront and admit that part of that is because of the extremely well-written threesome fics she writes between the Doctor, Rose and Jack.  This story is a perfect example of her skill.  Set in Pete’s World, Rose and 10.5 meet that universe’s version of Jack: a time traveler known as Jed.  Rose has had the experience below of having to get to know the alternate world’s version of someone she cares about.  But can she follow in her mother’s footsteps by going so far as to have a relationship with them?  This story doesn’t take shortcuts around that conundrum.  DameRuth does a great job of openly addressing all of the potential emotional landmines for each of the three characters in regards to the unique circumstances and unique relationship in which they embark.  Additionally, as I’ve mentioned elsewhere, I’m generally more interested in stories which explore the emotional, social and familial repercussions of a threesome relationship than I am in the actual bedroom scenes.  DameRuth doesn’t skimp on either.  She does write some extremely scintillating love scenes (and for those of you who are accustomed to my typical tastes in fic, be forewarned that this story does contain slash.  However, the author is pretty clear in cluing one in to when that is going to begin if, like me, those scenes aren’t of interest to you.), but I think it’s character-building, hurt/comfort moments, combined with the action/adventure scenes, which really sell this story for me, and which are responsible for bringing me back to read this series more times than I can count.

Note: This story is giving me a headache in figuring out what to do about the tagging, because Jed is actually an OC.  However, since a big part of the premise of this story is the discussions about is-he-or-isn’t-he exactly like Jack, I’m going to go ahead and tag this with Jack’s name.  My reason for that is that I think people who are looking for fics featuring Jack would be equally interested in reading this fic.  But if you are one of those people, please be advised that Jack Harkness does not appear in this series of this date.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, Character Study, Companion: Capt. Jack Harkness, Companion: Rose Tyler, Content Rating-DW: Adult (NC-17), Conventional (Canon) Couple, Doctor-10.5, Doctor/Jack, Doctor/Rose, Doctor/Rose/Jack, Drama/Angst, Erotica, Fluff, Friendship/Mentorship, Het: M/F, Het: Multiple, Hurt/Comfort, Jack/Rose, Original Character featured, Original Character/Canon Character, Original Character/Rose, Outsider-POV, Pete'sWorld or AU version of a canon character, post-canon setting, Series, Slash, Spoilers for DW Series 4, Threesome, Unconventional Couple, Work-In-Progress and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

