Really Wild Things by Cavalorn

Story TitleReally Wild Things
Author Name:   Cavalorn
Story Url: Story Link
Content Rating:  Teen
Status: Completed
Length:   8,002 words
Story Summary:  Two years after the events of Doomsday, Rose Tyler notices something in the Van Statten collection that gives her an idea.

Gioia’s Rec:
As I mentioned in my last post, I have a real love for Alt!Doctors from Pete’s World.  Having that Alt!Doctor appear in his ninth incarnation particularly thrills me, as is the case in Cavalorn’s fic, “Really Wild Things.”

This isn’t a long story, but – oh! – what it accomplishes!  There’s a background crossover with Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, an oblique, easy-to-miss reference to The Stone Rose, and a lot of physics (I think; I was a writing major, not a science or math major, so they could be discussing biology theories for all I know.) which would totally go over my head if not explained in narrative form by a brilliant Doctor and author.  The theory which Cavalorn uses to explain how Rose could be returned to her Doctor is just so perfect, so spot on, so utterly logical as it ties together loose threads from “Dalek,” “Rise of the Cybermen” and “Army of Ghosts,” that I find myself wanting to hunt down the author to make sure he or she is not actually one of the Doctor Who script writers or showrunners.  It’s as if this fanfic author peeked into the head of Russell T Davies and saw why a certain occurrence occurred at the beginning of “Rise of the Cybermen,” and how that might have been used to take the series a different direction, had Billie Piper not opted to move on to other projects.  *eyes the author’s profile speculatively*

I suppose it’s a good thing I’m too wrapped up in being a Mommy to devote any actual time to crazy internet-stalker behavior. 😉  Because, it’s quite tempting to imagine that this author actually is connected with the Doctor Who producers.  Either that, or Cavalorn is simply a genius of creative, intuitive writing.  I’m quite jealous.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, Alternate Universe, Character Study, Companion: Rose Tyler, Content Rating-DW: Teen (PG-13), Conventional (Canon) Couple, Crossover, Doctor Who, Doctor-09, Doctor-10, Doctor/Rose, Drama/Angst, Fluff, Friendship/Mentorship, Gen, Het: M/F, Pete'sWorld or AU version of a canon character, Reunion-fic, Romance, Spoilers for DW Series 2 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

