If it ain’t broke… by Fayth

Story Title: If it ain’t broke…
Author Name:   Fayth
Story Url: Story Link
Content Rating:  Mature
Status: Completed
Length:   5,195 words
Story Summary:  Right girl, right TARDIS, wrong time. But he doesn’t want to let her go.

Gioia’s Rec:
This is a simultaneously heart-warming and heart-wrenching post-Doomsday (for the Doctor) reunion fic.  Confused?  “Wibbly-Wobbly, Time-Wimey” definitely comes into play here.  As often occurs when one reads a lot of fanfic, as I do, I’ve encountered this basic premise before: a pre-Doomsday!Rose and post-Doomsday!Doctor run into each other somewhere in the vastness of Space-Time.  There are several great variations on that theme out there.  This is one of my favorites.

I love how the Doctor handles the situation – both in the short-term, and in the long-term. The final line in the fic prevented me from sighing sadly in the end.  Instead, the author managed this marvelous mixture of humor, angst, hurt/comfort, exuberant joy, sweetness, romantic love-making, grief and hope.  This is one of those rare fics that made me laugh even as tears were running down my cheeks.  And while I hate limiting my comments to such oblique references, the beautifully and concisely worded story isn’t long enough for me to risk being too specific, lest I end up spoiling the plot.  So trust me on this: everything we fans would want said or done in that hypothetical moment is said and done, leaving me only to regret the fact that this isn’t canon.  Nonetheless, it is fantastic.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Companion: Martha Jones, Companion: Rose Tyler, Content Rating-DW: Mature (R), Conventional (Canon) Couple, Doctor Who, Doctor-10, Doctor/Rose, Drama/Angst, Fluff, Het: M/F, Hurt/Comfort, Reunion-fic, Romance, Spoilers for DW Series 2, Spoilers for DW Series 3 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

